L.O.

Am I current?

How many jumps do you think makes you current? How often do you need to jump, to show improvement? Why do you think this? What have you experienced that makes you think this way?

I am just trying to see if people are on the same page about this kind of stuff. I have found as of late, that my thoughts seem to differ from most on this subject.
HPDBs, I hate those guys.
AFB, charter member.

Current enough to think I'm safe (not likely to screw up badly enough to hurt myself or someone else) - one or two jumps a month.

Current enough to think I can fly okay (on my belly; I'm still learning to freefly) - four or five jumps a month.

Current enough to think I can fly as good as I've ever flown on my belly (or to see real improvement in my freeflying) - ten or more jumps a month.

Current for what purposes? Current for me and current for you are also very different. It is all about being honest with yourself with your abilities, your comfort level and how much your "layoff" has affected your ability to perform safely.

I know some people that are always "current" making jumps on a regular basis with no signifigant periods of inactivity that scare me in the air. I also know several people that take two or more months off at a time and come right back without any problems. Only you can really know if you are current. There are some things (especially in skydiving) that can't be written in a book and taken as gospel.

at least 40 jumps a month then I am current...anything less and I aint bringing my a game to the sky...

so right now I am uncurrent as I have only done 10 jumps this month and know that I should take it easy on the 180 turn when I go out the next time ...

Dave
http://www.skyjunky.com

CSpenceFLY - I can't believe the number of people willing to bet their life on someone else doing the right thing.

This was my first attempt at a thread of my own, I guess its not that interesting after I read it my self.