paulagc

How to build a pea gravel pit

Okay, you experieced folks out there who may have built a pea gravel pit for accuracy competitions in their hay day...how do I build one?

I've been running a dz for several years. We took over from the former DZO who had already built a pea pit. Now, we've moved our landing area and without "the pea" to shoot for, our jumpers are quickly loosing their accuracy skills. (plus, we have a new crew of jumpers who need to earn their "IGLOT" numbers!!).

We obviously need to put one in. Now, how? How deep? Do we dig? Do we line it with sand or anything else besides pea gravel? Standard sizing?

I would appreciate any help and guidence that I can get.

Thanks,

Paula Coody
Indiana Skydiving Academy
Goshen, Indiana

We built one; don't know if we did it 'right' or anything.

Site it appropriately, so as to not interfere with the 'normal' landing patterns, and away from any obstacles that might cause turbulence. Dig a hole about a foot deep, line it with that weed-barrier stuff that lets water drain. Get PEA gravel, not regular gravel (we made that mistake!)

how?***

loads of pea gravel of course...:P

How deep?

Foot & half deep of peas

Do we dig?

No that leads to sprained and broken ankles when you hit the sides of the pit.

Do we line it with sand or anything else?

Line it with some plastic or other weed control.

Standard sizing?

36 ft or is 32, I can't remember.....:P hell make it 36 but call it 32....;)
you can't pay for kids schoolin' with love of skydiving! ~ Airtwardo

Hi paulagc,

Make sure it is washed pea gravel. Otherwise, you get pea gravel + whatever, sand, etc that they might not have removed when it was seperated.

Oh, and make sure it is pea gravel; some places like to sub crushed rock or anything else that they have on hand. I would suggest going to your potential rock supplier and see what he can provide to you.