jrcolo

Opinions on new jumper with digital altimeter?

im new to the sport and im wondering what opinions are to someone like me using a digital altimeter? ive read that they sometimes fail? any suggestions?

I used one right off AFF. If you can't jump without an altimeter (if it quits) then you've got something else to worry about.
I've never had a problem with my Neptune. If that's what you like and you've got a license to jump or permission from your instructors then go for it. That's what I did.

you can't jump without an altimeter (if it quits) then you've got something else to worry about.

Yep, I spent my last 3 solo's purely on altitude awareness... I like sitting next to the door in the Cessna and judging the height on the climb, and on the way down I always estimate my height before I look at the altimeter, great practice.

I have no problem with it.

I actually support it.

While all altimeters can break - when digi altis break they often show a blank screen or an error screen - letting you know it is broken. When an analog one fails, it gets stuck at the wrong alti.

Which one would you rather have?

1) An alti when it breaks will ALWAYS show you the incorrect altitude.

2) An alti that most likely will inform the user it is broken and very rarely reports the incorrect altitude.

A higher level AFF student had a digital altimeter he was given. It was in good condition and he was very aware of how it worked. I let him jump it. My only fear was that it was too easy to read:P.

I have abused my Neptune and it still works. I abused an analog one, and it broke and gave me the wrong altitude. If a student/younger jumper is spending money, might as well spend it on good equipment that will last a long time...:$