Monkeyb

Failing a level sucks

Does anyone else feel like a pathetic loser after not passing? I failed my level 2 today because I didn't extend my legs far enough. The exit went fine, I was stable the entire time, my test pulls went fine my 90 degree turns went fine, and my landing went fine... but my form wasn't there since I didn't extend my legs enough. The log entries show I did everything very well, so besides my leg problem I think I'm fine. It's my fourth jump and I'm still on level 2 :(

They recommended I do a wind tunnel before I jump again, but now I have another problem. As a student, I am limitted on money. The reception desk lady told me she'd let me retake the jump for $100 if I promise 100% to come in this week, but the offer is only good for 7 days. I don't have enough money to do a wind tunnel and the retake in one week, but if I fail again I'll feel like a complete idiot.

My question: Do I pass up the $100 retake deal and pay the full $180 when I have enough for the wind tunnel and the jump, or chance it with the $100 deal and hope I pass?

This is like a mixed venting/advice post, so any responses would be appreciated.

Don't ever feel like an idiot, I have almost 50 jumps and I can't land my canopy for nothing! I failed a jump once because I had come down on the plane, when I went up to do the actual jump later that day I was just so happy to be out of the plane I didn't do anything my instructor told me I just fell and enjoyed it. I can relate to the money part, I don't understand your leg problem? Where you trying to get to the jm and your legs weren't out enough? Remeber it's 99 percent mental, practice a lot on the ground get a feel for what your legs need to do and get up there and do it, if you don't pass again, then do the wind tunnel. Was this the first jump of the day? Never give up and never feel like an idiot, if anything I'm the queen of idiots then! Hang in there and good luck!!! ;)