mynacat

Ear popping/pressure problem

Hi
Does anybody really knows how to combat ear pressure?
I have been jumping for 5 years; I only can do one jump a day every time I go to any dropzone,
The plane ride to altitude it’s ok, the problem is the moment I open the canopy, it’s the transition from terminal speed to zero, that’s when It attacks.
Before I tried to jump twice in one day and I was screaming under canopy with pain.
I tried nasal decongestants, swallowing, yawning or chewing a gum or candy is not working as well,
I tried 2 kinds of ear plugs and also did not work.
I think I tried everything but maybe someone out there knows any good trick/solution .
Please let me know.

Make an appointment with an ENT Dr. and see what he/she can do for you. I dont have the problem so I have no quick solutions. Good luck!!!
I'm completely in favor of the separation of Church and State. My idea is that these two institutions screw us up enough on their own, so both of them together is certain death.

Since you didn't mention it, I'll ask. Have you tried to Valsalva by pinching your nostrils closed and gently exhaling through your nose once under canopy? If that doesn't work for you, then you do need to go see the Dr. to find out what is going on.
"It's just skydiving..additional drama is not required"
Some people dream about flying, I live my dream
SKYMONKEY PUBLISHING

Any ear problems outside of jumping? Earaches, chronic post nasal drip, sinus infections, voice like Donald Duck, etc?

If the pressure equalization exercise mentioned above does not work, then there must be some serious eustachian tube blockage. As they said, probably time to visit Dr. Ent.

I'd also add, based on a long history of sinus/nasal issues, do not rely on sprays as a regular form of relief without a docs approval. They are mostly for temporary relief and can make things worse if used too much.