fictionwriter

Help a fiction writer with a skydiving scene

Good afternoon Skydivers!

I'm a fiction writer in NYC doing research for a possible scene that features a dive. I've never done it myself (though I'm hoping to try it in the spring) and wouldn't want to be careless with accuracy.

Would any of you mind answering a couple of questions? I'd rather do this via email, so private replies would be appreciated.

It will be much more fun if you post your questions here in the open.

If you get private replies you'll have no idea of their accuracy or validity. But in the open, if someone posts BS, others will chime in and make corrections. That will give you the best shot at the truth for your book.

So let us have 'em!

piisfish

yes, just like Boogers wrote.
Post the questions here, you will get all the replies you need.

And don't listen to ChrisD

:D:D:D
"There are only three things of value: younger women, faster airplanes, and bigger crocodiles" - Arthur Jones.

I think we will be all happy to answer questions. You may get a few folks on here asking for a mention on the foreword, or maybe some consulting fees. ;)

In addition to asking your questions why don't you give us some context.

What is the context of the skydiving scene? What do you expect to accomplish with it? Is the character development, or does it move the plot along?

I'm kind of curious how it is going to be used in the book.

"The restraining order says you're only allowed to touch me in freefall"
=P

You're all right, of course. Well, here's the scene. Questions to follow.

My protagonist is a 27-year-old counterintelligence officer on his first field mission abroad. He's no James Bond-type; he just happens to be a skilled skydiver trying to make a name for himself. In fact, he's a sophomore agent who's done mostly desk work thus far.

The scene opens on a quickly darkening sky, possibly in Hong Kong, the eastern shore far beneath as our protagonist zooms undetected aboard a small plane.