ZigZagMarquis

Fearless Freddie

wow! That is probably one of the best stories I've read in a long time about our sport. Thanks so much for sharing.
"There is only one basic human right, the right to do as you damn well please. And with it comes the only basic human duty, the duty to take the consequences." -P.J. O'Rourke

Well, then pass on the thanks, because I agree that it's absolutely great.

Wendy P.
There is nothing more dangerous than breaking a basic safety rule and getting away with it. It removes fear of the consequences and builds false confidence. (tbrown)

NWFlyer

wow! That is probably one of the best stories I've read in a long time about our sport. Thanks so much for sharing.

I agree. Excellent. I enjoyed it particularly because I was a jump pilot and occasional instructor at Pelicanland where Fred jumped. The Pelicans were a team very hard to beat in the '60s and '70s days of accuracy competition.

I sent the article URL to my younger daughter. I was so moved by nostalgic memories of the wonderful times I had while at Pelicanland that my eyes started to leak as I typed to her.

Great place. Great jumping. Even greater people.
Guru312

I am not DB Cooper

I came across that elsewhere a few days ago...I read the last half through cloudy eyes.

Just read it again here, really gotta get these eyes checked!

The story touches me personally on so many levels...I 'know me' - I haven't even started to process it yet. SO many memories, so MANY messages in there - this is the BEST thing I've read in a REALLY long time! :)

~ If you choke a Smurf, what color does it turn? ~

Boogers

I kept expecting him to get back to Ottley's reaction to the dead freefall raccoon hitting his plane, but he never did. So just what did Ottley actually do?

From about 3/4 of the way down; "Ottley, the founder, died eight years ago. Young spoke at his memorial, and he told the story of the raccoon.