jasonRose

Two out, question..

I am studying for my C license and reading threw the sims I found something I should already know but I don't.

Sims Regarding two canopies out...

" If both canopies are flying without interference or possibility of entanglement and altitude permits:

(1) Disconnect the RSL.

(2) Cut away the main and steer the reserve to a normal landing."

What is the purpose of disconecting the RSL at this point? If you cut away with two out does the RSL effect the reserve when you chop your main??

Please someone explain in english the pro's and con's to this...

Edit to add: SIMS recomend to disco RSL during a downplane as well. I thinking since altitude will be a factor in this situation disco of the RSL doesn't seem to be likley, I think I would be choping...
Some day I will have the best staff in the world!!!

Pro - The purpose of diconnecting is to make it easier for your main to get out of the way. Even a slight hesitation to extract the RSL lanyard out of its channels, possibly unmate velcro, pull on reserve cable, etc. could be bad if the main does a fast spin around your reserve during a slightly delayed main departure.

edit: Also, it takes away a snag point of the lanyard shackle especially, where the thing could grap a line of your reserve after cutting away.

Con - takes some time...another procedure to do for only some emergencies.
People are sick and tired of being told that ordinary and decent people are fed up in this country with being sick and tired. I’m certainly not, and I’m sick and tired of being told that I am