Munther Alahmad

Storing Gear - off season

Hi all, 

i am still new to skydiving and i had bought my gear 4 months ago. Given it is not season now in NL, it would not surprise me if i dont jump for months. So, my question is, how do i store my rig best without damaging it? or just the best way to hide it/store it?

At the moment, it is just leaning in my room under my working desk (sunlight doesn't reach it). is it better to put it in a closet? in a suitcase? etc.? 

Thanks in advance for letting me know!

unpack your main, store it loosely folded in a waterproof container in a dark area.

If you use rubber bands, don't leave them wrapped around suspension lines since the rubber may / will degrade.

clean any dirt from your harness / container, leave the reserve packed and store the "rig" in a waterproof container in a dark area.

take it to your rigger for an I&R several weeks prior to jumping again.

Have fun.

• Like 1

(edited)
16 hours ago, kleggo said:

unpack your main, store it loosely folded in a waterproof container in a dark area.

If you use rubber bands, don't leave them wrapped around suspension lines since the rubber may / will degrade.

clean any dirt from your harness / container, leave the reserve packed and store the "rig" in a waterproof container in a dark area.

take it to your rigger for an I&R several weeks prior to jumping again.

Have fun.

Thanks for the response!! but is this the way even if i jump on average one day a month?

Edited by Munther Alahmad

6 hours ago, Munther Alahmad said:

Thanks for the response!! but is this the way even if i jump on average one day a month?

If you are jumping once a month, don't worry about it.

kleggo's advice is solid, but is more of a 'long term' storage process.

I take winters off these days (too old to jump in the cold) so my rig usually sits from maybe late October/early November until April or May.