ShannonElise

First time at Deland... and I'm a little nervous

First, I tried to see what else has been posted like this and I could not find anything recent. So here goes...

I started jumping in May and have 153 jumps. They have all been at the same DZ.

I am traveling to Florida to jump at Deland at the end of November and I'm a little nervous. I jump at a relatively small DZ, with what I have been told, is a very small landing area. Also, we only jump a 206 and 182, so I'm stoked for larger, quicker planes.

Anyway, any tips or information would be greatly appreciated! It's my first time away from home and first time at a pretty big DZ.

Shannon

I do basically the same thing at every new DZ I visit:

Get the briefings on the landing pattern, hazards, outs, etc...
Find an LO
Introduce myself and give them an idea of my experience level
Go jump (something reasonable in size you're comfortable with)
Hang in brakes a bit after deployment and then follow the crowd in on the pattern.
Repeat

After a few jumps it will feel routine to be jumping from Otters and such... just don't panic at the sight of all those canopies in the sky... they are generally much farther away than you think.
NSCR-2376, SCR-15080

It's OK to be a little nervous. Keeps you on your toes.

As said, get the brief, familiarize yourself with the air to ground picture of the DZ, landing areas and patterns then keep your ears and eyes open. There's a lot going on in the air as well as on the ground.

You'll love Deland!

Great community before, during and after hours. Really fun people, great aircraft, lots of help if you ask.

jon

Deland is my favorite dz. be ready for a culture shock. Everything has been said.... Get a briefing. The landing areas are big and plentiful. Stay heads up, now there's more than just 3 other canopies in the air and landing. Pay attention to landing patterns and you'll be golden. Have fun! Maybe I'll see you there!