Nathan Ruben

Getting Started

Question

Hi guys! 

I'm Nathan, I wanna get started with skydiving with wingsuit flying as the ultimate goal and I was wondering if you guys could give me some pointers. Any help or advice would be much appreciated!

What are the best/cheapest places to get your AFF or AID? 

How much will it cost and how long does it take to get to the 150/200 jumps to apply for your FJC? 

Currently, I'm studying physics and everything there's to know about skydiving and wingsuit flying. I want to move out of the Netherlands for a better DF. Is there anything else that I can do?

Thanks for helping out!

Edited by Nathan Ruben

2 answers to this question

Hoo Boy.

First off, welcome. It's a really fun sport filled with some very amazing people.

Second, don't focus only on a 'ultimate goal of wingsuiting'. Focus on becoming the best, most skilled & safest jumper you can be. The rest will follow. Enjoy the journey. You may find other disciplines to be something you want to do. Either as a side road on your journey to a wingsuit, or as a completely different path. Unitl you've done it, you have no clue what it's like. Formation work (belly), freeflying, canopy flight, instruction, rigging, even flying the planes. Each part of the sport has things that are very attractive to some folks. 

"Best" and "Cheapest" don't go together. Ever. I would look for a DZ close to you that has a track record of creating licensed jumpers from the students that start. One question I would ask is: 'How many students did you have that got their license last year?' Or maybe in the last few years because 2020 was so screwy.
Keep in mind that AFF or IAD are instruction methods. Once you get to 'solo student' status, there's still a ways to go to your license, and that's where the real adventure (and learning) begin.