3 3
Rio Santonil

Recommendation: Gloves

Greetings everyone, 

I would like to happily report that I recently passed my Level 6 this past weekend. My awesome DZ is at Lake Elsinore. Well, during this time of the year until February, I learned that it is advisable to wear gloves because it gets really cold. As a student, my DZ provides all of the gear except the gloves. Anyway, I want to start buying the smaller equipments and plan / budget for the upcoming gear. I started window shopping from the various online stores but it seems to be limited plus I am not familiar which brand are low end versus high end gear. I did not get a chance to visit the gear store at my DZ but I will certainly check with them this coming weekend. 

Would you be so kind to make a recommendation (summer/winter) and indicate whether it is a low/high end brand?  

Thank you for your advise. 

Fly Happy! 

Rio

I've been happily using generic worker gloves (the maxiflex types, close-fitting) instead of skydiving-specific gloves. They provide a ton of grip, plenty of dexterity for pulling handles and zippers and whatnot, are cheap (but only last me about a season), have no velcro that could snag on stuff.

For wintertime, I typically wear silk gloves underneath them. They help, but I haven't found any simple way to keep really warm hands in winter.

• Like 1

I use football receiver's gloves; you can get them at pretty much any sporting goods store. I have small hands, and find that the youth large fit well, but there's a wide range. They have very sticky fingers. Not too thick, but I have another pair of motorcycling gloves that fit well that are warmer.

For me, having them end at the tips of my fingers, and not be too tight on the fingers, is key. The first for dexterity, the second for warmth.