LukeSkyBoarder

Container sizing for noob

Hi All,

I'm a 2 month AFF student with 16 jumps and I'm researching and planning for my 1st rig. I weigh 130lb so I'm looking for a container that can hold a 170 zp main canopy and 180-190 reserve canopy. I also want the container to be downsizable to 150 main canopy.

I like Vector III Micro, Mirage G4, and Wings but I'm not sure of the container size.

Vector III Micro: V350?
Mirage G4: M5, M6?
Wings: ???

Is my assessment right?

For a Vector, a V349 might be a better choice assuming you're going with a PD176/OP193 or another "Standard" fitting reserve.
I had a V351, which lists the same Std/Full fitting mains as a V350, and a 150 wasn't the best choice when fitted with a "Standard" fitting reserve. A Pulse 170 was ok, but a regular 150 just didn't quite fit right.

For the mirage you may want to look at either a M2 or a M3. I jump a M2 with a PD 143 reserve and put around 300 jumps on it with a sabre 2 170 main. Packing is a little tough at first if you’re not a good packer and have a new canopy though. I even had a PD vengeance 170 in that container for a little while which is an airlock canopy so it packs about 20% larger according to PD. You can also go with a PD 160 optima for a reserve in a M2. As for a M3 the main is the same size but you can fit a PD 160 reserve or a 176 optima reserve.

LukeSkyBoarder

Hi All,

I'm a 2 month AFF student with 16 jumps and I'm researching and planning for my 1st rig. I weigh 130lb so I'm looking for a container that can hold a 170 zp main canopy and 180-190 reserve canopy. I also want the container to be downsizable to 150 main canopy.

I like Vector III Micro, Mirage G4, and Wings but I'm not sure of the container size.

Vector III Micro: V350?
Mirage G4: M5, M6?
Wings: ???

Is my assessment right?

Just a FYI, there is no Micro that will fit the canopies you are looking to use.