CoolBeans

Accuracy landing for students

Hi there, I'm trying to grasp the accuracy landing topic. I'm currently a student on a big canopy (260sqft I think it's Navigator). I normally start the pattern at 1000ft, turn left at 600ft then turn left again to final at 300ft. Only after turning to final I start to get an idea how far I'm going to fly before landing. Would you please share how you are approaching the accuracy landing?

Regular landing pattern:

0.regular-landing-pattern.png

Tools and tricks that I'm interested in:
1. Looking at the horizon and target - is target "going up", "going down" or fixed? if fixed that's the point I will most likely land at
2. S turns on final - if I know I'm overshooting I could bleed some altitude by doing small left/right turns; I've been told that's a bad idea as it makes me unpredictable and other jumpers can be confused; however it is very efficient
3. Flying in deep brakes on final - never tried that myself, I've seen/heard/read that this could be a way to bleed altitude faster in case I was overshooting; but then how do I flare? 
4. Using front/rear risers to either land sooner or later - no idea about that, is that even an option?
5. Modifying last turn to final at 300ft - instead of regular 90 degrees turn I could cut it short or circle around by turning little bit to the right first and then doing long left turn; the challenge with that one is that I don't know how far I'm going to fly before I actually turn to final

5.modifying-landing-patterns-from-USPA-SIM.png

6. The way I flare - quick half-way down should give me a bit more glide, slow full flare should stop the canopy sooner - is that true?
7. Pay attention how long/quick my downwind leg is and based on that figure out when/how to do final turn. I have no idea how to use that one in practice