Hello folks I am a 10 year paraglider pilot, and I also paramotor.  I very much want to start pursuing my A license this summer.  I am 6’2” and a healthy 240 pounds.  I could probably lose 20 pounds but I would prefer not to if I don’t have to. I am a healthy person. I am a firefighter for a living, and pass our fitness test annually with ease.  I have noticed that most of the people in the skydiving sport are generally small folks. However, I have an amazing itch to join your family. Any advice for my large stature, pertaining to Gear, and the training?  Also, I have thick skin so let it fly.

You're size shouldn't be a problem at all.  Most schools have student gear with adjustable harnesses.  Choose a school that can provide you with a 260sqft or larger canopy.  Preferably a 290.  As a paraglider pilot you're probably familiar with wing loading.  Ideally, student wing loading's should be .85 pounds per square foot of canopy. (0.85:1)  You're "exit weight" will be most likely be 265+ once your're all geared up.  You're instructor will be able to advise you accordingly.

Let the adventures begin!

Just ask about your weight. It may or may not be an issue depending on the school. Each will have their own student weight limit.

Some gear (harnesses, emergency parachute) is only certified to 254 lbs for example, and that's person plus all their gear. That used to be a common standard, which also means that plenty of people technically overloaded their gear. But nowadays there is more gear that's rated to a higher value, so ideally you would find a place that has such gear.