1 1
Mikelj

Hey everyone!

Hi everyone,

I'm currently a college student in Montana.  For the past few years I have been obsessed with going skydiving and hopefully getting my A license someday.  I would have had my first tandem skydive last year, but the people I was going to go with ended up backing out, and I didn't want to go alone :( 

I was doing some research on the dz I plan on going to, and it says that a tandem jump isn't required for people to start their AFF course.  Do you think that I should spend the extra money to do a tandem jump, or should I just go for the AFF course?  I know a tandem would be a good way to make sure I like the sport as much as I think I do, but it's also a decent amount of money I could save for AFF.  

Was your first experience tandem or solo, and what did you think of it? 

I'd steer you toward a tandem first.  And don't worry about those other losers (kidding).  But on a serious note: whether or not you have friends go with you, the experience will be no different.  You won't see them after you exit the plane until you all arrive back at the DZ.  Besides, you'll make new friends if it's a half-decent DZ. 

The reason I'd say do a tandem first is that there's a lot of nerves involved that you can't quite understand until you are sitting at the edge of the door getting ready to take the plunge.  And if you think you're going to be just fine and it won't affect you...trust me, you're wrong.  A tandem is an important first step to mitigating those nerves, because then when you go up again ready to do your first solo AFF, you're going to experience an even more overwhelming batch of "what the f*%$ am I doing?"

Do the tandem.  The licensing is going to cost you roughly $2000, and the extra $220 for a tandem is well worth the extra investment.  Talk to your instructor and see if they'll let you do a little canopy steering once they pitch.  I know some TI's are cool with that. 

• Like 1