20_kN

Keeping Solid Altitude Awareness?

I have a bit of an embaresing admission to make. I have around 80 jumps and for the first 75 or so I have not had much issue with altitude awareness. I have been able to pull around the intended altitude pretty much all the time. That all changed over the last 10 jumps. I was invited to do some larger group jumps with a dozen or so jumpers. Up until this point I've never jumped with more than four people and I rarely jump with more than two.

Fast-forward to the jumps, we all decided on a multi-stage breakoff at 5k and 4.5k for the base. We mapped out the dive flow on the ground several times so everyone had an understanding of their place. For the first few jumps I was on the outside, so tracking out at 5k, and for the jumps after that I was on the base, tracking out at 4.5k.

When it came time to track out, I found myself having to track longer than expected to get a solid distance from the rest and I ended up breaking off at 5k and pulling at 3k. Once I moved onwards to the base and tracked out at 4.5k, I found myself tracking very close to someone else so I had to track even further to get away from him which gave me a deployment of only 2k. By the time I was under canopy and stable I was at only 1600', which for me is deep in the red. That's already well below my hard deck. I normally pull at 4k, so that's really low for me.

Anyway, I just found that jumping in larger groups eats up a lot more of my attention to looking for other trackers, opening canopies, looking side to side, above and below before I open, ect, ect.

So I am wondering if an audible might be a solid solution? My altitude awareness during the dive flow is fine, it’s not an issue until I start tracking away and can no longer read my altimeter and after a few seconds go by it starts to become a guess as to what my altitude is based on what the ground looks like.