20_kN

m2 AAD? Worth it, or go with a different brand?

I am looking at getting my first rig and so of course the question about AADs come up. Being that I am new to skydiving, I pretty much view AADs as like air bags or seatbelts--they all do the same thing it seems. As such, it seems like it would make sense to just buy whatever is cheapest which is the m2. I know there are a few threads on the m2, but none of which are recent that I found.

So the question would be, is there any reason not to buy the m2, or any reason why it would be worth paying $200 more for a Vigil or Cypress?

No, there is not. I've seen it fire a couple of times on the designated altitude without any hesitation. It has multy mode it will last you 15 years without service and it costs around 25% less. I bought it for mine. There is no reason why you would pick the other brands.

Well the airbag comparison might be a bad analogy with all the takata airbags being recalled. Yes the technology is really similar but you know vigil and cypress are trusted and have been around for years. It's also easy to get cutters or parts for them if they do fire.

It sounds like rig manufacturers like mirage, sunpath, aerodyne, etc approve them for use with their rigs. I would check with your DZ though just to make sure since they ultimately do the gear check to allow you to jump.

One possible reason: ease of resale. If your rig has an in-date/serviced Cypress or Vigil, no-one would think twice about it. With an m2, some people will pass over your ad, or at least be a lot more cautious about it.

That is not a comment on the quality of the m2 as a product, which several people say is fine, but simply an apparent market reality.

Any of the 3 major brands is OK.

new Cypres' are 15.5 yrs no maintenance (older used ones were 12.5 with maintenance at 4 & 8 years)
Vigil 20 years but send it in at 10 for battery
M2 15 yrs no maintenance