TJQ41190

Exit Separation

What do y'all think of this skydive? I just stumbled across it on youtube and it seemed like it was pretty sketchy.

You can see the two way open up on the right side of the frame at 1:20...

you see another canopy almost on level and on the other side of the student jumper as he opens...

... and I think the fourth canopy is opening on level with the coach as he opens.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HCguof58-vU

I'm a student and something that kinda bugs me about safety is not having control over the actions of other jumpers and how a poor decision or confusion on the load could put myself, or someone else, or multiple people in a bad spot.

In the loading area before one of my AFF jumps, a tracking group was unaware that jump run had changed - for example.

How strict is your DZ about proper exit separation?

How much do they control 'unusual*' stuff like tracking, angle and wingsuits?

How well do they communicate things like changes in jumprun?
I can easily see how jumpers would not know about a change until they got to the loading area. But it should be made clear to them before they get on the plane (landing direction is the same sort of thing).

All of those are indicators of the safety culture at the DZ. Nothing you can do about those other than choose another DZ if you don't like it.

Not sure about the video you posted The other canopies don't seem to be 'danger close'. But it's very hard to say due to the effects of the wide angle lenses on most cameras.
You seem to be worried that they are 'on level'. If they are all opening at the same altitude, they will be pretty close to being that way. It's the proximity that would be an issue.