slotperfect

Tandem Instructor Poll: Instructor Jumpsuits

Alright, I only have about 50 tandem jumps, so I'm still the newbie here...

I tore nice hole in the butt of my FF suit (bit and baggy FF suit) sliding in one of my first tandems, so I went out and bought a pair of Motocross pants. Not your typical ones, though.

They're not the tight, tuck in your boot type of pants that you're used to seeing. These are baggy, straight-legged pants, but are constructed out of some very tough material . Thus, problem solved for sliding in tandems.

As for control. I haven't had a problem with it, I wear a short sleeved t-shirt and haven't had any problems with that either. I've found that the majority of my power for turning/controlling comes from my legs anyways.

The TM I/E that taught my course, though, almost always wears street clothes (mostly shorts and a t-shirt, we ARE in Texas, ya know:P). He's done that for the majority of his tandem jumps and has over 1000 tandems (if I remember correctly).

When I talked to him about that during my rating course, he said something along the lines of "well, I would wear your FF suit to start with, that will help you out a lot. Once you start getting used to the environment/how to fly tandems, then you can make a decision about what to wear."

Attatched is a pic of me doing a tandem that shows the pants I'm talking about fairly well.

Here's a link for a random shop on the web (and no, I didn't pay nearly as much as this shop has them for!) Shift Squadron Pant
--"When I die, may I be surrounded by scattered chrome and burning gasoline."

I wear a large floppy jumpsuit with no booties. As I said in the helmet post, I have 20 "real" tandems under my belt.