mdwhalen

Patrick Dodgin

Patrick Dodgin of Jupiter, FL died Saturday, December 26th in a dune buggy accident in San Bernandino County, CA where he was vacationing with his wife, Amy. Amy was not in the vehicle with him. Patrick was a world class jumper, pilot, load organizer, instructor, tandem master, DZO and friend. Blue Skies.

He was my plane captain on one of the Roger Nelson world record attempts. A cool guy, real down to earth personality.

Yes he was a pilot but did he ever get his pilots license?
"For you see, an airplane is an airplane. A landing area is a landing area. But a dropzone... a dropzone is the people."

I'm new to the dropzone.com forum and don't know my way around posting photos yet. I have a photo album on the 'net and just uploaded a shot of Pat I took in the plane at a world record attempt. He's the one wearing yellow.

I put the photo in the album labeled "Skydive Lost Prairie" although we were at Skydive Chicago, sometime around 1998, I think. Eventually I'll reorganize that website.

http://www.pbase.com/skybob/image/120683484/original
"For you see, an airplane is an airplane. A landing area is a landing area. But a dropzone... a dropzone is the people."

this is so sad - they already set up a Facebook Memory page - that is cool. But wow, Pat and me had a few stories, but I cannot say we were super close friends or anything, just that we did a LOT of big way skydives together.

I learned a lot from him and he was pretty fucking cool guy. very sad.

Well, that sucks! I've enjoyed many a jump with Pat over the years.... I think I first met him in Z-Hills..

He was a good person, as well as a great skydiver.

Happy infinite free-falling Pat........
Practice random acts of kindness, and senseless beauty...

And, give money for Mr Douglas! www.mrdouglas.org

My first jump was in 1982 since then I can say two jumps stand out as most memorable, both were organized by Pat.