DesertAttorney

Does training in X equal competency in Y?

I see a lot of people with training/expertise in one discipline trying to pass said training/expertise off as constituting competence or authority on a completely different area.

Examples being:

-a person with no training in economics trying to authoritatively discuss the roots of the faults of the Economy;

-someone with no criminology training trying to authoritatively discuss the roots of/solutions to crime;

-A person with a liberal arts background trying to authoritatively discuss a hard science issue (and vice versa)

Appeals to authority are such an arrogant debate tool, especially when one does not have the pedigree for said authority or tries to pass off a completely inappropriate pedigree as being authoritative...

Pedigree isn't automatically necessary for competence.

I'm not a lawyer, but I know a lot about how the courts function and how the laws work.

I'm not a criminologist, but I know a lot about roots and solutions to crimes.

I'm not an economist, but I know a lot about economics.

And pedigree doesn't automatically make one authoritative.
There's a lot of stupid people with degrees out there. I know lawyers who's advice isn't worth the effort to listen to it.
"There are NO situations which do not call for a French Maid outfit." Lucky McSwervy

"~ya don't GET old by being weak & stupid!" - Airtwardo

I see a lot of people with training/expertise in one discipline trying to pass said training/expertise off as constituting competence or authority on a completely different area.

You'll probably need to be specific here. I don't recall too many instances of it for cross purposes. I do remember some welders showing off their credentials.

-a person with no training in economics trying to authoritatively discuss the roots of the faults of the Economy;

Given how wildly economists disagree, despite training in the same "science," does one really need "training" to debate the subject?