CLWDDNCR

Any experience with a Firebolt 180?

I’m a total novice and apparently shouldn’t be flying one, but I’ve done 7 jumps on a Firebolt 210 loaded at 0.85 and my observation in comparison with two larger student canopies is that the snivel is very long (I thought I had a malfunction on the first of those jumps) and the slider tends to get stuck for a moment about a foot above the risers, sometimes requiring a pull on rears to get it down.

benlangfeld

I’m a total novice and apparently shouldn’t be flying one, but I’ve done 7 jumps on a Firebolt 210 loaded at 0.85 and my observation in comparison with two larger student canopies is that the snivel is very long (I thought I had a malfunction on the first of those jumps) and the slider tends to get stuck for a moment about a foot above the risers, sometimes requiring a pull on rears to get it down.

Hi Ben....sounds like you're doing things right....wing loading at 0.85 sounds ok...did you buy this canopy or are you renting.

benlangfeld

Renting. I only discovered it was a firebolt after those 7 jumps. Scared me when I found out it’s definitely not a beginners canopy.

Here's what I found on the Firebolt and wing loading:
The FireBolt can't be compared directly to any other canopy. When lightly loaded (.5 or .6 pounds per sq. ft.), it can be a beginner canopy. When heavily loaded (2.3 pounds per sq. ft. to 1.7 pounds per sq. ft.) it is a high performance canopy, that will please the most aggressive canopy pilot. canopy. When loaded from .85 pounds per square foot to 1.6 or so, it is a great all-around canopy, capable of slow flight with lots of stability and great toggling range.