drainbamaged

Aff Student learning how to deal and overcome

my background first. I am a Wounded Iraqi Vet. I have two broken vert in my neck six groups of herniated discs in my back. no cartilage in my knees and hips. i have 11 jumps still have not landed on my feet. my back is fine with the jumps and short of landing in a creek my lower body was fine ( had to take a month off for that mess). now last night i had my packing class and wow the pain. i rather go land in the creek again. is there a way to pack a chute with kneeling and using you knees so much? i want to be able to pack my own and not have to pay a packer for each and every jump. i already have my own rig but at this point the pain might force me to pay. also with my lower injuries should i talk to my instructor about not landing on my feet and go for my butt? i have talk with my docs both physical and mental and they both approve. this is helping with my PTSD and my wife says i have been the most relaxed since i went over. so i am not quitting. it is helping to much. i just need help ironing these few bumps out. thank you sorry for book.

I'm glad youve found something effective. Instead of kneeling, you can sit down for much of what the kneeling would do (line stows, putting the bag into the container, etc). Or you could get one of those really thick foam kneeling pads that gardeners use, but sitting will feel better in the long run. It will take longer, but you're there to jump for your pleasure, not the volume right now. And packing for yourself will give you a mastery of your gear that will increase your confidence.

I'm not going to give any advice about landing, but I will say that a larger and slower canopy will be much more forgiving on landing. You won't be swooping, but you'll more likely be walking back from every landing smiling.

I PLF regularly. That might hurt your knees more, so it might not be best for you. Talk with people, and try stuff out.

Wendy P.