pandamonium

Acetabulum (Left hip joint) fracture

Howdy,

I had a hip fracture that banged up my left hip socket (acetabulum) about 11 years ago in a car accident. I had to have about 10 pins and 2 plates installed to help me get back on my feet again. I feel great, and really only have small pain the next day (1 on a 1-10 scale) when I have to lift heavy objects. I think its more muscle fatigue because I tend to protect my left leg by depending on my right leg more. My doctor said I shouldn’t have “routine impact to lower extremities.” Other than that, I have no other limitations given by my doctor. Inevitably I’ll have to have a hip replacement between 20-30 years from the impact. I don’t run, but I walk a lot. I keep my weight manageable, and am 5’10” around 220 lbs. I could afford to lose a bit and get less than 200 lbs.

I’m just starting out my skydiving career and love it. I had a wonderful opportunity to go down to Z-Hills and get my A-license over a 2 week vacation. I just did my 28th jump this last weekend and feel great. I do get that muscle fatigue/pain I described the next day after I jump. I think it mostly comes from the opening shock from the canopy.

I wanted to post here to ask a few questions. No, it’s not medical questions I know I need to see an orthopedic doctor and get advice.

1. Does anyone else have the same situation that I have?
2. Are there ways to ease hip impact on chute deployment? I’ve thought maybe grabbing my chest strap and somewhat “flexing” to reduce the impact.
3. Are there container systems that may provide more hip support? Is there anything I can wear underneath to help this? I know I don’t want to restrict movement, but I think a happy medium can be achieved.
4. Am I asking for trouble?

Thanks for the input,
Chris
I hate landing in planes.

Have you had a bone scan to see what shape they're in?