Distabled

ParaChutePlegic

Hi All!

Ive just joined your forums. Im in Australia and I am planning to jump solo. I am a T10 complete para with no movement or feeling from waist down.

I had a motorbike accident 6 yrs ago. I was a commercial pilot before then and I flew jumpships for 3 years (500hrs) to build up hours. It was here that I got the jump bug and completed 37 jumps before I broke my back. Now I want to get back into it and have a tandem booked for this Saturday and my solo planned for 24th Oct.

I have a pair of motor cross pants that I have modified with extra padding and straps to pull my legs up with for landing. I have a modified harness that has extra webbing across the back to stop my legstraps from falling down my legs. I have very strong upper body control but the main thing i am interested in is my legs in free fall. Do i need some type of brace or will my legs naturally posn themselves in the box position? At this point I dont plan to brace my legs but will use knee pads to hopefully get my legs in some type of correct position.

Any advice would be great.

Cheers

D:)
Get busy living or get busy dying!

Thanks Monky,

I have read all of that thread and I have also conversed with the author.

Are there any Paraplegics with their injury at T10 or below that have jumped? Im trying to get into contact with Peter Hewitt in South Africa as apparently he is a para. I really want to find out what it like from someone who has a similar injury to me as people with spinal damage higher up then me have different challenges and issues to overcome.

I will keep searching around.

TY

D;)

Hi Dale.

Great for the enthusiasm, and determination.. both of which you will reguire to hold on to whole heartedly... to go down this flight path.

Great that you've got a tandem planned first, and I would expect anyone in our situation trying this, to do so -first before venturing further.