smacke

Solo Jumping

Hi

i am new to dz.com but was really happy to see this topic!

I have done 3 tandems and I am completely obsessed by getting thrown out of planes!

However, as it is quite expensive hobby, I am considering asking my local DZ if I would be able to do a static line, but want to get some idea whether it would be possible before I ask?

I have cerebral palsy which affects all my body, but more so my left side!!! I can walk unaided although in busy places or uneven areas, I walk with someone and find very fine hand movements difficult. I drive an automatic car with no adaptions.

Umm, not much else to say. so any advice which will help me to pluck up the courage to ask will be great!

Anything is possible, but some things are just harder than others.

You'll find that most skydivers are very accepting of people's differences and most are also very enthusiastic about the sport. You shouldn't be afraid of asking your local dropzone what they think. They are the best people to ask, anyway. Try not to be disappointed if they say no, safety has to be the number one priority in skydiving. On the other hand, they may say yes, so please don't let me discourage you. You'll never know unless you ask.

Good luck and welcome to our world!

- Dan G

I agree - anything is possible if you put your mind to it & want it bad enough.

Like you I also have CP, but fell in love with jumping when I did my 1st tandem,

I'm in no position to give you advice on skydiving, but I will give some thoughts none the less.