snapxshot

Gear

Hello all, I'm sure this question has been posed by many rookies or those that are new to this sport, but I would like an experts advice on what gear to buy. I have just completed my first solo jump and plan on buying a rig over the winter so it will be ready for next spring. I am 5'9" and 170 pounds. If anyone of you professionals can take some time to help me out as to what container or canopies to buy or even good companies to buy from to make all this easier for me I would really appreciate it. Thank you!

Well first off welcome!
I think you'll get the response of ask your instuctors alot on here, because they know you better than the interweb does when it comes to canopy flight. I'm a newb but recently bought me a rig, so i'll share what little i know on the subject. When it comes to canopies stay away from ellipticals, stay at a 1:1 wingloading for 200 jumps, at 170 pounds your exit weight is close to 195, so a 210 might be a good first size(again talk to your instructors)

I bought a PD reserve because i did not here one bad thing about them.

i got my container sized for a 150 main so i could get the most life out of it(curently jumping a 170) because containers will normaly accept 3 sizes of mains; soft, optimal, and "brick". But not all canopies have the same pack volume, i.e. a PD Storm 170 packs the same size as a PD Sabre2 150. Everyone is partial certain brands, but i'm sure all manufactures make good products. just do some research, and pick out the one you like, I personaly would start with; http://www.unitedparachutetechnologies.com
http://www.miragesys.com/
http://sunpath.com
http://www.performancedesigns.com

Have fun!
p.s. don't forget to check out the classifieds on here.

...and to add to that you can also check out Parachute Labs www.jumpshack.com

Parachute Labs has the Racer Harness and Container, AngelFire reserve, and also the FireBolt Main.