phoenixlpr

Crossbraced tandem canopy?

I come haulin ass in on a set 360!
A crossed braced 285...hmmmm....AWESOME!!!
A great way to introduce students to skydiving
and POND SWOOPING on their first jump!
B|
They are probably going on the basis that a crossed brace
is a nice rigid and stable wing???
I love it!!!:D

I don't, first time a student drops thier feet in an attempt to stand up early, it will be a bad day for us both.

Why is this being developed? I just don't see a practicle purpose for it, but I am new to tandems with only 1000 in the last 7 years.
An Instructors first concern is student safety.
So, start being safe, first!!!

Only a matter of time until we start having tandem pond swoop competitions.

Put an expeienced guy on the fron flying the toggles, guy on the back works the risers!

that has actually been done...check the pond swoping footage from the ranch circa 1996 I think you will see a tandem pond swoop

Cheers

Dave
http://www.skyjunky.com

CSpenceFLY - I can't believe the number of people willing to bet their life on someone else doing the right thing.

I don't, first time a student drops their feet in an attempt to stand up early, it will be a bad day for us both.

Why is this being developed? I just don't see a particular purpose for it, but I am new to tandems with only 1000 in the last 7 years.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I agree with matthewcline.
A 285 might work for tandems in a place - like Guam - with consistently strong winds and tiny Japanese students.
However, I worry about no-wind days, when a student digs a heal in to try and stop the slide.

2,000 tandems ago, a student did that with me, we just roared over her ankle, breaking it!
One broken student is enough for me!

Been there,
done that,
got that T-shirt,
learned my lesson - the hard way!

Only a matter of time until we start having tandem pond swoop competitions.

Put an expeienced guy on the fron flying the toggles, guy on the back works the risers!