jenomegle

Helmet- Help!

Hi fellow jumpers!

I'm fairly new to the sport (36 jumps) and I'm thinking of buying a used helmet, but I could use some advice.

Most of the used helmets I find online are motorcycle helmets, so I was wondering if those are safe enough to use when jumping.

I saw this helmet, used: http://www.epinions.com/reviews/THH_T_888 Do you guys think something like that would be okay to jump with?

Again, thanks a lot for any input!

Jen

First of all, if you're looking for used helmets appropriate for skydiving, start in the right place... the classifieds here on this site are a good start: http://www.dropzone.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/page.cgi?g=Head_Gear%2Findex.html;d=1

You can also read reviews here: http://www.dropzone.com/gear/Helmets__Head_Gear_and_Goggles/index.shtml

One thing you might consider, though, is starting with a Pro-Tec helmet. Even brand-new, they're inexpensive and provide great protection. That will give you time to take a look at a variety of helmets, try on helmets (either at gear stores, or by borrowing a fellow jumper's helmet) to figure out what style and features you really like and what works well for your head and face.
"There is only one basic human right, the right to do as you damn well please. And with it comes the only basic human duty, the duty to take the consequences." -P.J. O'Rourke

Search this forum for threads about helmets, and read them. Heed the advice.

The one you are looking at is going to severely restrict your range of eyesight. Can you see your emergency handles on your chest with that? I doubt it.

Don't put "looking cool" above "being safe", in your choice of equipment.