Jcoff89

Sabre2 vs. Safire2

It's really personal preference. Some people really like the Sabre 2, some people really like the Safire 2. I've jumped both in the size you're looking for. I'm now jumping a Sabre 2 150 and will shortly be switching to a Safire 2 149. I prefer the Safire 2 to the Sabre 2. I've also jumped a Sabre 2 190.

As you can tell from my jump numbers (198 right now), I'm no expert or anything but here's my opinion.

The Sabre 2 has higher riser pressure, is trimmed more steeply, holds a dive for longer (not that much but a little) and tends to have sketchier openings. The flare is higher up in the stroke which is also played out in the way it turns. The Sabre 2 150 I'm jumping right now is a very good example of the breed, it doesn't have anywhere near the number of issues on opening that my Sabre 2 170 had. The 170 used to hunt while it was sniveling, have closed end cells and open off heading on almost every jump. The 150 has the odd off heading (probably caused by me) and has closed end cells which are typical of the Sabre 2 but they're not that bad.

The Safire 2 has slightly lower riser pressure which means that while my recovery arc is quicker, I'm also able to hold the risers longer. This means that, while the Safire 2 isn't as well set up for learning to swoop (if that's what you're into) it's easier to play with risers on the Safire so in a way easier to learn up high (IMO). The openings are generally better but you get the odd closed end cells & off heading openings (again, probably me). The flare on the Safire 2 is *much* further down the stroke and this is accentuated by Icarus always having very long brake lines. I had a good 6 inches of play in mine on a canopy with < 80 jumps. Doesn't really bother me though.