swoopgaz

Argus

Anyone out there jumping an argus aad. If anyone has got any opinions or experiences with them, good and bad, would be greatly apreciatd
Blue Skies

There is one in the rental gear I have been using and jumped it for 27 jumps. Since it's only been 27 jumps I can't really give you a definitive answer. Sorry. [:/]

It seems good. Haven't had any problems. But again I've only had 27 jumps with it.

I have one - and I couldn't be happier. It's well made, strong, excellent software, and the best bang for your buck. I would recommend it over Vigil or even (*gasp*) Cypres anyday.

When I invested, I asked to see their quality control and testing data. (I'm an Engineer, so sue me) and to my suprise, they gave it to me. Those boys and girls did their homework, that is a well engineered product.
=========Shaun ==========

At my home DZ we are moving in the Argus direction pretty rapidly.

The DZ is replacing timed-out AADs with Argus units in tandem rigs and student gear. The staff are buying Argus AADs when they need new stuff.

I have one and many of my friends now have them. Everybody is happy with them, except the people who are waiting for new units to arrive.

I like the cases that are milled from a billet of aluminum. I like the robust connectors that are used to attach the cutters and control units. I like that the batteries are off-the-shelf at local stores. (Sure, the batteries need to be changed annually, but they are a lot easier to change than the original CYPRES batteries were.) The swoopers like the swoop mode. The DZ likes that everything is interchangeable.

I am sure that if they start misbehaving we will adjust our opinions. But that's not happening so far.

So, for us, for now, we believe we are getting everything we want in an AAD with the Argus.