taylor.freefall

Wing Loading

Im new to skydiving, just finished AFF, so the subject of gear has raised its ugly head. Tonight I've been looking around and thinking about wing loading. I'm 226lb out the door. ive been jumping 230 up to now which would make my WL 1.0:1, or thereabouts.
So my question is how accurate does this have to be? would it be careless to go slighltly over like 1.03:1? I've been sat here with a calculator all night working out different sizes, I'm probably thinking out loud but it doesnt hurt to ask. I know it would be silly to go too much obviously, but just a little? Anyway I'll stop waffling. Thanks :S
OH presuming the usual safe limit is 1.0:1 or less. for novices.

So my question is how accurate does this have to be? would it be careless to go slighltly over like 1.03:1?

You got it right. WL is not like pi or e for dozen of digits. I don't think even the 2nd decimal has any sense.

If I were you I'd choose a 260(280) or 240 with those jump numbers you have. It depending the DZ elevation too.

Wether a 230 is the right size for you is really a question to ask your local instructors who know your skills, but it doesn't raise any red flags in my mind.

Often people site 1:1 as a MAX for novice jumpers and encourage them to choose a W/L of 0.8 - 0.9, however it is more of a concern with smaller students, as 1:1 may put them on a 150 or smaller, which dramatically changes the flight characteristics vs. a 230 at the same W/L. Sizes above 230 are also difficult to find, as many models don't come any bigger. For example, to my knowledge PD only offers >230 on two ZP models, the Navigator (240, 260, 280) and the Sabre2 (260).

Finally, 1:1 vs. 1.03:1 is really not important... I would say don't bother looking past the tenths digit, as people's weight can fluctuate several pounds throughout the day without noticing a difference in flight.
"Some people follow their dreams, others hunt them down and beat them mercilessly into submission."