strop45

What do you say when people use 45 degree rule or try to get others to use it?

Apparently saying "it doesn't work" or "its bullshit" isn't the right thing.

The problem is when people who have ten times your experience start explaining it (and generally these are the only people who use it), its hard to argue against the "we'll I've been using it for 25 years and it works"!!!

No amount of explanation or discussion seems to help as you are trying to tell them that they have been wrong for years?

suggestions?
The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits." -- Albert Einstein

i explain to them that the group never gets to 45deg and thanks to billvon i have hard evidence, they will sometimes reply with "but they get close" and thats when you have a solid piece of evidence for it.
JewBag.
www.jewbag.wordpress.com

the only reason why a system that has been prooved to be inaccurate is still working is that i gets people to actually look out the door thus providing (nearly?) adequate separation
The universal aptitude for ineptitude makes any human accomplishment an incredible miracle

dudeist skydiver # 666

If spotting had not become a lost art, deteriorating from when it was essential that everyone know how, down to having someone on the load sport for the load, down to only the pilot spotting and everyone on the load whistling Dixie as they exit like it's stepping out of a chauffeured limo, then there might not be much discussion on this. But I've heard people ask "how many seconds" and then they count like it's a speed reading test as they look out into space and disappear into the void sans clue. I've seen people attempt to employ some semblance of some concept of a 45° rule but then discover that the group before never got to 45° so they wait... and wait.... and wait.... I've seen people refuse to get out when the plane wasn't over the drop zone regardless of the winds aloft because they don't know, they just don't know.