Speedy84

Audible altimeters and helmet mounting

I just bought a whole bunch of gear, including an ion helmet and an audible altimeter. I have no experience with audibles and am a little confused about how to attach them to the inside helmet pocket. All the helmet provides is a little sticky velcro patch that you stick to your alti and then velcro it into the helmet. Doesn't seem to be too secure. What is the best way to attach these things inside your helmet when there is nothing you can hook it up to like on an external mount?? Is it safe to just tape it to the inside of the helmet with lots of packing tape or what? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!! :S

Different helmet and audio, but...

I wear a protec (still after all these years) and have a ProTrack. I just wedge it into the ear hole and put the helmet on. (Less secure than your velcro)

Remember, (for most helmets) once your head is in there, the audio is not going anywhere. Its only when you doff your helmet that it needs to continue to stay put. Not knowing your helmet, I suspect that it will be enough.

When mounted on the outside, you have to be very secure as it is exposed to the full blast... but that's different.

I'll shutup now and we'll both see if someone who knows your combination can shed more enlightened information on the questin ;).

Jim
Always remember that some clouds are harder than others...

If this is any use to you my Pro Dytter is mounted externally. Purely because of comfort. I dont have a problem hearing it in freefall.

I cut diamond shape out of helmet liner though and stitched around the edge to prevent it coming undone. Also the plate is stuck on using car windscreen sealer. that plate never coming off. Also helps to make the hole sealed to prevent windnoise getting in the helmet. Only the wanted tone of the Dytter. Plus I dont really trust those little girly cable ties.

Well my Paralert was bolted on.;) Ask some one what that is.