publiux

Differences in Packing Methods

As a student, I'm anxious to know as much as possible about our sport. To that end, I bought the "Packing Made Simple" DVD. It's a great DVD for someone like me to learn how to pack a canopy before I even take the course at my DZ. I figure it can't hurt to know a little about it beforehand so I can make my instructor's life easier.

The DVD shows you the pro pack, flat pack, and psycho pack. My question pertains to how differently these packs perform upon deployment. The DVD is great at explaining how to pack using these methods, but doesn't have a word on how they perform on opening.

What are your experiences in packing using different methods? Is there any hard and fast rule regarding which pack is better for which situation?

I'm sure I'll ask my instructors this questions when I take the packing class, but as I said, it can't hurt to know a little beforehand. Thanks in advance!
--
Raul Ruiz
'A' License Wannabe

I have that same DVD and it is good. I recommend that you pack a few times while watching the DVD.

That way you can pause it and rewind as needed during any section.

PRO packing is the standard way of packing today, it seems to give the best openings.

I have never psycho packed so I can't help on that one.

Flat packing is discouraged, if for no other reason than it taking so much realestate in the packing area.

Just curious.

Not passing judgement, but do you actually have 25 jumps without any packing instruction yet?

We start our students packing before they make jump number 4. By the time they have 15 jumps they are packing by themselves with general supervision. And totally on their own by 25 jumps.

We also do not charge to teach them to pack.
Be the canopy pilot you want that other guy to be.