rocketscientist

police officers, anyone out there?

Although I'm no police officier, I have been a criminology student and I can tell you this:
Make sure you know in which police force you're applying and what kind of policeman talks to you about it, as police work in every state is very much different (career-wise), just as in Canada where I'm from, municipal police work has nothing to do with provincial or federal police work, and police in Canada is quite different from the U.S and very different from France, and I don't know about the U.K but I'm sure career-wise it's very different as well.

Unless you plan on staying at the bottom of the ladder, where I think it's quite similar all around (minus the location which might have diferent implications, i.e large city, small town, native reserve etc...)

I'm getting my degree in Criminal Justice and know a little about police work if you feel like PMing me.I'm also considering Police Academy next year.

But you'll probably get your best advice and info from AggieDave on this one.Give him a PM and hes sure to give you some good solid advice.

"...just an earthbound misfit, I."

My old man was a cop for 20 years. Being a cop is great if you like dealing with stupid people all day everyday:D

He would get calls about grass clippings blowing onto neighbors driveways, trash cans too close to the street, ect.

Needless to say, he bought his military time and retired early to sell houses:D

BASE 1384

Officer TackleBerry should be along in a few minutes to counsel you!!!

;)

He isn't the only cop on here. I can't remember the name, but the other guy is a NYC cop. I haven't seen him post in a while though.
"Mediocre people don't like high achievers, and high achievers don't like mediocre people." - SIX TIME National Champion coach Nick Saban

;)

He isn't the only cop on here. I can't remember the name, but the other guy is a NYC cop. I haven't seen him post in a while though.