Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for Micron Average Rating = 4.93/5 Average Rating : 4.93 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

> >|
Show: Sort by: Display:
timeslikethese

Brilliant container 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: timeslikethese, 2012-10-07


After jumping a teardrop as my first (second hand rig) I decided to take the plunge and buy a new container (at 200 + jumps) I researched practically all rigs available on the market. I originally was going to for a Vector because from talking to riggers and other jumpers, the general consensus was that it is the best rig available bar none. I also strongly considered the Icon, Infinity and the Basik Advance 7. Infinity and Basik's customer service is excellent. Icon not so much so, saying that that I have a Pilot 140/Smart 135 in my rig, which are great canopies. The main factor that swung me in spite of the 22 week wait (which is now gone to 37 weeks) is because the Vector was the only rig that would take the Pilot 140 as a top size and allow me the flexibility to downsize in the future. All other rigs were sized for 135-150. As for the rig itself it looks amazing and the build quality is second to none. I took the spacer foam options, which make the rig very comfortable, it would feel pretty solid without it. The magnetic riser covers are a great option. Pin protection is superb. I also took UPT's semi-stowless bag option, which uses tabs instead of magnets. Its exceptionally easy to pack and had made for great openings so far. The Micron is a brilliant rig that will stand the test of time the only down side is the long waiting times. Finally, I ordered it through Chuting Star, who provided great back up guidance and advice.


mchamp

V308 Micron 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: mchamp, 2011-10-02


First off, I am a person that thoroughly researches and reads each and every minute detail down to nitty gritty. Then and only then with months and months of constant research, asking around instructors/friends and comparing different rigs in person I came to the conclusion that the Vector3 Micron is absolute pinnacle of modern skydiving rigs.

Lastly you also have to understand that the person who developed and made skydiving what it is today (3 ring, pull out, skyhook etc) is Bill Booth the founder of UPT!

With all that being said I purchased a brand new Vector 3 Micron and picked it up during the very first skydive Expo down in DeLand FL. I can not even begin to explain how comfortable the rig hangs off of your shoulders and around your back with the 3D spacer foam along with the correct measurement of course. Loaded up with all the options(Magnetic riser covers, Skyhook, Spectra ripcord etc...) I KNOW for a fact that there is no rig better, more comfortable, safer, and well developed/tested other than the Vector3 Micron of UPT. Hands down the BEST rig and manufacturer out there.

Note: I am not a representative of UPT nor do I work for them in any form, just a highly satisfied customer!


Micron - Best Rig on the Market 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: jc106wcu, 2009-02-19


Best rig around in my opinion. Rig comes with a lot of features and options. Spacer foam is extremely comfortable. Flaps are secure in freefall and never open prematurely. AAD is located under the yoke and reserve flap which forces you to check your reserve pin. Best of all, SKYHOOK! You will never know until you experience it. Try an intentional chop during a demo day with UPT. Amazing option and a must.


superstu

Great rig 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: superstu, 2008-04-21


I have 2 custom microns now and love them both. These rigs are super comfy, 99% of my jumps are swooping or canopy related and so I spend a lot of time in the harness and with the spacer foam, magnetic risers, and all stainless hardware, nothing beats it. fantastic rig from a fantastic company.


V310 Micron 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: chris1269, 2008-03-21


This is my first BRAND NEW Rig and boy was i excited when it arrived! I ordered the Rig with pretty much all the extra options that were available. Ok it was pricey, but i was convinced the money would be well worth it! I am extremly impressed with the build quality and attention to detail. Ive looked at every CM over and over again and i just admire the amount of work and time that has gone into making this superb piece of kit. Not a single flaw! I ordered the Lightening Split design (3 Colours) and it makes the rig look out of this world! How many rig Companys do you know that offer you such a varied option in designs when ordering? I ordered the Magnetic Riser covers which i had never seen in the flesh previous to ordering, and i love how they function and they overall design! I also got the 3D Spacer Foam which really does add to the comfort! Something which i didnt have with my old TearDrop SF!! I then got all the usual Extras, Hip Rings, One Piece Leg Straps, Collapesable PC, Hook Knife Built in.

I also got some custom embroidery on one of the ring covers, and it looks awesome!!

Im pretty much over whelmed with what i have recieved, and is almost too good to jump! I love it, i really think its the Rolls Royce of all Rigs. Would i recomend this rig to others, hell yea!!

BTW, it fits like a glove!!! It couldnt have been more on the Mark! Thanks UPT!!


~~~Micron Split Lightning~~~ 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: alainhel, 2007-10-13


This is my 3rd rig and it is by far the most comfortable. The workmanship and attention to details makes it a gear that will last for a very long time. The rig is freefly friendly with many safety features.
The only problem lies with the AAD controller that is located under the reserve flap. I strongly beleive that pin check is required in the plane but to check the AAD controller is pretty difficult. A good improvement would be to have a window in the backpad like the Javelin.
The split lightning pattern is an eye catcher at the dropzone.


Micron ! 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: islandboyflyrz, 2007-06-15


Well I've Had This Rig 4 About A Year Now & I Love it ! Well Built , Solid , Comfortable & Looks Sweet...The Skyhook Works Like A Dream & I Can't Wait To Buy My Next Micron , If U Want The Rolls Royce Of Containers Buy The Micron U Wont Regret It ! Bill Booth Is A Genuis , Good Job Bill Booth & Relative Workshop , I'm A Micron Guy 4 Life !


Superfletch

New Micron 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Superfletch, 2005-10-19


My Micron is the absolute most comfortable rig I have ever put on. I feel as safe as anyone can wearing this rig while flying in any body position. When designing this rig you are able to choose from many different colors in many different configurations. Excellent product.


Micron container. 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Kimsdu, 2005-04-22


I have been jumping with a micron for about 3 years and I have to say I believe it is the best rig on the market today.
The micron is custom made so it fits to perfection.
This is the only container I have had where I can fly in confidence knowing all of my flaps are going to stay in place. (A must for freeflyers)
I have currently put around 3000+ jumps on my micron and it still looks great with no wear and tear.
I am going to keep jumping a micron as long as they continue doing business and am looking forward to whatever innovative invention Bill Boothe next comes up with.
I am looking forward to recieving my new Ouragan collection rig with the skyhook system on it.
if in doubt about ordering this container just go ahead and call the factory,the customer service you recieve is the best even after you get your rig.
All my students jump Vector....All my student are very happy.
Thanks relative workshop for being the leaders in container design.


Micron, the most reliable container around 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Andrewnewell, 2004-10-19


The Micron is with out a doubt the best container and harness system I have used.

It's ergonomic design (especialy the contoured yoke) and extra wide leg straps give the flyer unparalleled comfort both in freefall and under canopy. The quality and strength of the materials used to create a micron and its "bullet proof" design create a sense of absolute trust in its ability to function correctly every time.

Strong, comfortable, reliable, Are three words that I would choose to describe this kit.



> >|

GoWrite your own Review