Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for The REvolve Full Face Flip-Up Helmet Average Rating = 4.85/5 Average Rating : 4.85 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

> >|
Show: Sort by: Display:

Proper fit. Contour mount. 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: begiffin, 2013-12-11


I purchased my Revolve through ChutingStar, they had it to me in 2 days. I used the measurement chart and ordered a XL. However, it was much too small.

I returned it for an XXL, which was still too tight, and I had problems with the lens fogging up. Presumably because the fit was too tight and not enough air was moving in the helmet.

I contacted BoneHead regarding the tight fit. They immediately emailed me back, and told me there were shims in the liners that I could remove. After removing one shim from each liner, the helmet fit fine.

I ordered the Contour mount and ran into a problem there, too. The camera would not go on the slide. I had to spend all night gently sanding the rails. I was very careful to sand it just right. After a lot of careful work, the camera fit on the rails perfectly.

I also found out that the Cookie Contour Rail Mount stopper fits the Revolve's Rail Mount.

Overall, I'm very happy with the helmet. I just wish that BoneHead would have given a little more info on adjusting the fit.

Blue Skies,

BG


Peripheral vision 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: kolesik, 2013-10-12


Pros: I liked that I could keep the visor up until the jump door opened. The face shield never interfered with my prescription glasses, and I never worried too much about scratching the lense while in the aircraft.

Cons: I did not care for the lack of peripheral vision & it was not very air tight on my face. I had to add some folded up paper towel in the chin cup padding to reduce the constant problem of air entering the helmet. I also added some closed cell foam self adhesive weatherstripping along the inside of the face shield to help control the drafty helmet.

This may just be imagination, but I felt that the face-shield/chincup inhibited by ability to look back at the formation when doing RW. I was having trouble looking over my shoulder at the formation whenever I was turning 360's. I always felt that the large chin brace on the visor would hit my shoulders & I could not look behind me as far as I should be able to. I ended up selling my REvolve & bought a Cookie G3.

I am much happier with the G3 peripheral vision & airtight fit. I made a few jumps with a Phantom X & I really like that helmet as well.
Good Luck, I hope this review helps.


One amazing helmet 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Drew86, 2013-02-20


I ordered directly from Boneheads website. The measurement recommendation tool was spot on with the size. It fitted me for a large helmet, which I was worried would be a little too big, but this thing fits like a glove. Outstanding construction inside and out. The carbon fiber lay is absolutely beautiful, the audible altimeter pockets are a huge plus, and the face shield mechanism works perfectly. If I flip the shield down too long before leaving the aircraft, the lens will start to fog up at the bottom, but the small vent allows any fogging to immediately dissipate. Like other reviewers have stated, it's a little tricky to find a spot to mount a GoPro, but I'll give that up for the superior construction any day. I highly recommend this helmet.


My Revolve 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: OWB, 2012-08-25


I've been jumping a Revolve for over a year now. It took some time to find a full face helmet that fit over my glasses. Even a Mamba that was two sizes too big hit the frames. Starting with customer service, I shot Bonehead an email with some general questions expecting to get a reply in a few days, a young lady there replied in a few hours, ON A SUNDAY, from her phone, with no BS answers to all my questions. I measured my squash and pulled the trigger. A confirmation email told me delivery in 4-6 weeks. I thought " six weeks, perfect, just as our plane comes back for the season." They lied. The helmet showed up in THREE weeks, leaving me all dressed up and nothing to jump out of. Fit was/is perfect! It seemed a bit flimsy, but then I had been jumping a Mindwarp for 16 years. Quiet? first jump on it, as I came down the hill I thought I was watching video with the sound off! Last week it really paid for itself. We were doing 4 way, and during a bipole-bipole transition, I got kicked full on in the face. I believe I would have lost some teeth with the open face helmet, instead, I just adjusted the helmet, picked up my grips and continued. Negatives? It does fog up under canopy in certain conditions, but not always. The visor latch does take some getting used to, but you can't say its not secure. The chin strap material is slippery, and you lose the adjustment after a few jumps, but a few minutes and some super tack solves the problem.
Do I recommend one? ohhh yeahhhh.


Great Customer Service 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: gregleatherman, 2012-04-20


Just ordered the helmet directly from Bonehead's website. Amazing customer service and sales support. Thanks Chris and Linda! Bonehead helped immediately with all my measuring and sizing questions. I will update this review once I recieve the helmet and jump it a few times in May.


Revolve is awesome 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Freddiekz, 2012-04-17


I bought the Revolve about 8 months ago and have put about 40 jumps on it and I absolutely love it. It give you the option of a full face or no face. I have only used it as a full face because there is no need to use it as an open face; the face shield does not fog which is a major problem I have run into with other full face helmets like the Factory Diver. Under canopy I slide up the full face by hitting the button on the top and sliding the entire face of the helmet up. the only downside is that the track that the face of the helmet slides on is down the center of the helemt which means GoPro mounts on the top of the helmet are a no go and you have to use the Contour camera. Other then that though, I will not use another helmet. I abolsutely love the thing.


REvolve 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: strife, 2012-04-11


Received the revolve larger type manly beast 6'3" measured my head as per Boneheads recommendations and the fit was spot on was slightly concerned that it was to small but took out the extra shim in the thermal liner and its perfect.



Revolve 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: JKEEPER, 2012-02-06


Was suprised as how thin it was but it is my first carbon composite helmet. Love it, well worth the money...


Totally awesome 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: ComicJules, 2011-09-28


This helmet is fantastic. I like that I can flip the whole face up and just leave it like that when I'm in the plane. When I'm about to jump I just give it a quick pull down and I'm out the door. It's super quiet inside and it doesn't fog up! The goggles they have at my DZ can get pretty foggy sometimes, I also get my makeup on them too. The lens on this helmet never touches my face and never messes up my makeup. I can't feel my eyelashes brushing up against it like the DZ's goggles. It looks good too. You can take the face part off but I wouldn't recommend it, it's kind of a hassle.


best of both worlds! 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: TammyD, 2011-09-21


I've had my REvolve for 11 months. No fog, comfortable, easy to open with one hand but stays secure otherwise. I like having the protection of full face and the convenience of open on the plane and under canopy.

I use the Contor attachment which is awsome - keeps my camera secure and is positioned perfectly to get great shots!

No complaints, but if I had my way I would get a tinted lense (but they don't make them).


> >|

GoWrite your own Review