Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for The GUNER Helmet Average Rating = 3.89/5 Average Rating : 3.89 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

Show: Sort by: Display:

This helmet is just OK 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: taurusfall2004, 2012-01-11


I bought this helmet after having a pro-tec right after graduation. First, the helmet is A LOT lighter and quiter than low end helmets. Also, the carbon fiber looks cool and seems pretty strong. On the other hand, the strap could not be any cheaper. I caught myself checking the strap as part of my pre jump checks since is so cheap. I never really feels secure. Next is were I really experienced my issues. The customer service for Bonehead is nothing short of HORRIBLE. I was given directions to back the helmet for a custom fit when I bought it. I gave the helmet to my GF who wanted to bake it for herself so I call customer service for the directions. The woman who picked up the phones claimed to be an owner of the company and was nothing short of rude. Her response was "why would you want to bake it",and made me feel stupid for even calling about it. She had such a bad attitude I refuse to support Bonehead. God forbid I had a real issue, I doubt it would get resolved by them. Long story short. If you are going to spend the 200+ dollars. I suggest getting a low end Tonfly helmet. They are closly priced and have WAY BETTER materials. The helmet is not bad but the customer service and materials are CRAP!!!


HeatherObscura

guner 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: HeatherObscura, 2008-07-22


I love this helmet, I'm a beginner and it's so comfortable and quiet..I haven't even bothered to bake it either. It sticks out a little on the sides and makes me look like snoopy but I can deal with it


Bonehead Guner -- Good helmet, could be better 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: fencebuster, 2008-01-21


I bought my Guner after 6 jumps and I immediately noticed the difference in free fall. It was much quieter than the student helmest provided by the DZ. The fit was good and I never baked it. My model has the newer chin strap and it is very secure. The finish was a bit of a disappointment -- as a student, every non-stand-up landing seems to leave a mark on the exterior. I had a run in with a fence and a very hard landing in which my third point of contact with the ground was my head, and the helmet was very durable and protected me from injury -- clearly a good thing. Overall, I am very satisfied, but the manufacturer should do something to make the exterior finish more durable.


Nice helmet 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: mrken, 2007-03-21


The newer boneheads use a black plastic buckle, not the metal seat-belt style usually pictured (I was told at my local pro shop this may have been due to the old buckle coming undone during FF). The fit the helmet is feels perfect (haven't bothered to cook it yet), and nice and snug when I have my SOLO and OPTIMA loaded into both audible slots. The only minor complaint I could have about this helmet is that the sexy matte coating shows scratches and nicks quite easily compared to the Mindwarp that I put through a couple face plants during AFF :)


Close, but fatally flawed out of the box. 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: Fro, 2006-03-04


I had a Guner for about 50 jump and really liked it while I was jumping it. It fit well enough when I bought it that I never had to bake it. The pockets for the audibles are secure, but the padding needs to be pulled back to access them. The Velcro strips that hold the padding in place are glued to to the inside of the helmet and these tend to come unstuck with time. Not really a big deal, they can be re-glued at minimal cost and effort.
I was happy with this helmet until the buckle that holds the chin strap failed, leaving me helmetless at 7000 ft watching $450 worth of skydiving gear float away(that's approximately 23 jump tickets for those that need help converting from USD). Just to clarify this is the black seat-belt type with the red release button.
I was doing a solo jump when this happened so there's no way the buckle got bumped or stuck. I know I fastened it in the plane, I even felt the chin strap come undone right before the helmet lifted off my head.
This is a pretty major flaw in my opinion. I lost not only my helmet, but also my audible, neither of which was cheap. For the cost of skydiving gear I expect to it perform as flawlessly as possible, not just so-so or O.K. if you make some improvements to it.
If you have a Guner or other Bonehead with the same type of buckle it's not hard to replace with something better. I know someone at my DZ who did this with his helmet. As for Bonehead I haven't contacted them yet, but I do plan to. If they replace the helmet and the audible then I'll consider them redeemed. If not the I might have to avoid them in the future just on principle.


Guner Helmet 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: Kogrodnik, 2005-10-11


I thought my Guner was great as far as comfort and how quiet it was in freefall. I say was because I had one of those metal seatbelt type chin straps and during a recent jump, it came undone and flew off my head.....at 9000' ft., losing both Helmet and Pro Track. I know it was latched in the plane and I know I did not bump it. Bonehead claims they have not heard of this happening, but upon my "accident", I have heard otherwise. I haven't decided if I will buy another Bonehead yet. The Guner is definitely very comfortable, but I am not sure I want to buy another helmet with issues like that. They have changed the chin strap, making me think they knew of problems...... For any new buyers....just be cautious of that seatbelt-type clasp.


BH Gunner - a solid choice 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: Spatula, 2005-06-17


This is the first helmet I've purchased and the comfort and fit are top notch. I had tried on many open face helmets prior to choosing the Gunner and in my opinion it was the most comfortable.

I got the standard black carbon fibre matte finish which is duller than what's standard on the pimp daddy. I like this much better!

My only reservation on the Gunner is the chin strap closure. The "standard" chin strap is a plastic buckle with a small oval shaped padded weaved through the strap. Not 100% comfortable, and shows wear quickly. I had anticipated the metal seatbelt style with flag logo when I ordered it due to all advertisment photos (website/para-gear catalog). I ended up purchasing this from Bonehead directly.

Customer Service from BH is average. I ordered the chinstrap 2 weeks ago, and have yet to recieve it.

Overall, I'm very pleased with this helmet. Comfort and Fit alone sold me on it, and would highly reccomend it!


My most comfortable piece of gear. 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: apixel, 2005-03-07


I'll start with the only negative comment I have to get it out of the way. When you see the product picture, it looks like this helmet is nice and round. This is what I was after when I got it. When it arrived, I was a bit disappointed at how it looked from the front. Since it has room for two audibles, it looks a little funny with the bumps sticking out on both sides. At any other angle, it looks nice and round like it should.

My esthetic reservations were quickly forgotten when I tried it on. Even before baking, it already fit great. The padding in the inside is nice, thick and soft. While reading the FAQ at the bonehead site, I noticed that they recommend baking even if it fits well. I did, and it fit even better.

It's also incredibly quiet. You can barely hear the wind noise, and the audible alarms punch through loud and clear. I've tried a pro dytter and a neptune in there, and they fit perfectly. The booklet suggests that you have to remove the earpiece in order to place the audibles, but I simply slide them in with the part in place. They fall right into place, and you don't feel them at all.

So far it's only suffered one hard riser strike and my occasional clumsiness when handling it, but not a single scratch has developed on it.

I still believe most helmet's price are a bit on the outrageous side, and this one is no exception. But with such a comfortable fit, and quiet experience, I've forgotten all about my wallet pains.

Try to view it from all angles before you buy, but if you still like it, you cannot go wrong with this helmet.
You'll love it.


-Andres



Guner Helmet 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: MFF29Alpha, 2005-03-06


Awesome helmet. It's very quiet and very comfy. fits dytter perfect and you can hear it fine. What more could you ask for?


GoWrite your own Review