Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for Hurricane Average Rating = 4.75/5 Average Rating : 4.75 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

> >|
Show: Sort by: Display:

I love it...but... 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: fitzlan, 2012-03-16


I've bought my Hurricane 170 second hand. It had about 60 jumps on it before mine, and i've put around 40 jumps on it so far. I love the way it flies, the way it turns so fast for a 170. Openings are pretty smooth, sliders tends to stay up, by a little pull on the back-risers gets him down. The flares are pretty awesome, not even tried front-risers landings yet. My only problem so far is that it almost always swerve to the right as it starts to fly. It does a 90-180 turn and then stopsto turn and flies straight. Now i compensate as soon as it opens to minimize the turning on opening and it goes alright. If anybody can help me with that or give me hints...it would be appreciated.


What a canopy 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: pados63, 2012-03-14


I made 10 jumps with my hurricane 170, about 1.5 wload, and just happy with it...it opens soft (after Merit, with big slider, and roling tail, this canopy is perfect) it flies quiet fast, it is a high perf canopy...it lands in no wind days aswell than wind days, if you wanna flight conservatly, you can, if you wanna make a rodeo you can.

i cutawayed once, last jump, because risers i had were bad, unbreaked toggle, and line twists, and 2 time hade same problem with good opening,

dive is great, and it flight better than stilleto...it lands better, and you can have a lot of fun....in track suit it goes good, body position, normal body position and it opens in axis...you can play with your harnes during opening sequence, it takes aproximatly 800 feets and make once again great openings, good glide ratio, and really easy to pack.

the new zp materials used also by pd...

hma 500 lines , really happy with this canopy....


Good canopy and good support from the manufacturer 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Eldevor, 2011-04-05


This canopy performs really well, opens smoothly and is easy to pack. I'm a new packer (just have jumped 3 of my own pack jobs) and even when my canopy is not small (170 sq. ft.) I manage quite well to put it in the bag. After 10 or 20 more pack jobs I will be able to be just 5 or 10 minutes slower than the packers at my dropzone :-D.

I would like also to say something about the after-sale service at Parachute Systems. I've read some comments here that is not good.

I have to say that my experience couldn't have been better. I bought the canopy second hand needing some rigging. I took a couple of pictures of the defects, sent them by email to Parachute Systems (in South Africa), and just the day after I got the reply advising me to send the canopy there to be repaired. That's what I did. The repair was finished soon after it got there and the canopy posted to me well packaged and protected. I was informed of when it arrived, when it was posted... I can't find anything that could have been done better. I would give also a 5 in after-sale service to Parachute Systems.


I love my 150 ! 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: kefran, 2007-09-21


hi,
I now have around 170 jumps on my 150 hurricane. It's actually my first elliptical and I must admit that in the beginning I was quite scared to jump with it ... what a mistake, it allows you to fly it very conservatively if you want to and with time it seems that I can't see any limits. I am loading it around 1.4. being a camera flyer, openings are really important to me (and to my neck ;) ) and I must say that with a constant 800-900 feet it's just perfect, predictable and easy to steer while deploying. I have the spectra brake lines on it and had to add 2 inches on them recently (spectra's shrinks a little with time ...)

I would recommend this main chute for beginners to intermediate pilots willing to enter the world of full ellipticals with an easy one which will follow your skills progression.


SimonBones

Love the Hurricane! 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: SimonBones, 2006-02-28


I put most of my jumps on an original sabre and got used to canopies that like to dive. I tried the Stilleto 135 but didn't really like how reluctant it was to really dive. So I was also looking into a Katana. I did some jumps on a Hurricane 135 and a 120 and decided it was the one for me. Some of these PD/Icarus/Precision canopies were over $2000 for a new canopy! My new custom Hurricane 120 cost me just over $1100. The zero porosity coating is different than other companies too. The Hurricane comes with a coating that is not slippery like other new zero P's. It was super easy to pack the first time I packed it. No slippage at all! I've since put 500 jumps on it and it is quite a ride. The toggle turns create quite a dive. You'll be able to see the horizon OVER your canopy when you spin it. It'll keep the speed up longer too. I'd say it has a medium to light amount of front riser pressure. You can really make it float too if you're out on a long spot. It offers you soo much control. The flare is really nice and powerful. You can flatten the canopy and pull out of a dive fast any time you want. My only con is that some canopies can be really forgiving with sloppy packing and body position. Not really this one. If you pack sloppy and don't keep nice body position for and through the open you can get whirly off headings and maybe a spanker (had 2 in 500 jumps on it). It's not too bad though. Just don't expect to be getting those promised nice on heading openings if you pack and pull like sh*t.


Excellent and reliable 9-cell 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: cpg90, 2005-11-19


I've been jumping the Hurricane 120 for 5 years along with my Velocoty 79 & 90. My wife has been jumping it for 2 years. Its performance is excellent - much better than many of the 9-cells by other manufacturers. I chose the Hurricane after owning and jumping many different canopies.

I specifically use the canopy on demos (downtown Bankok with hundreds of canopies) and big dives (357+) that require on heading openings and critical reliability. That is not to say other canopies are not as reliable but cambined with the performace and price, it is what I choose to jump.

The Hurricane's openings are on-heading, it flies very nicely, doesn't fall out of the sky and its flare is powerful. I can swoop it and finish with lift to spare - I've jumped some 9 cells where the bottom falls out at the finish. Riser turns are best if you brake the canopy first and then transition to the riser(s). It isn't as fast as my Velocity but it isn't supposed to be (I'm over 195 exit weight). The Hurricaine's openings are MUCH better than the Velo.

The HMA lines are great - the spectra lines that came with it required retrimming but I had them replaced with HMA by the factory rep, Louis. I found the Parachute Systems service very good. I'm not sure if other people with service problems didn't contact Louis, but he was prompt and professional.

Take a close look at the Hurricane. I've jumped bunches of canopies and have found this one to offer fantastic 9-cell performance.



+2500 jumps on Hurricane 120 and 105 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: freeflightclub, 2005-09-21


I am jumping Hurricane Canopies now since about +2500 jumps (all jumps done with Photo-Videoequipment) without any mailfunction or cutaway situation. The openings are not too long but soft and on heading. The flight performance of the Hurricane is unbeleavable- in brakes you can stay up extremle long, the glide ratio is fantastic and with frontriser or harness turns you can pick up a lot of speed in the dive to enjoy a super long and fast swoop. All I can say about Hurricane is: I think itīs the nicest elliptical 9 cell canopy I have ever used or tried like all other Products from Parachute Sytems. GET IT AND CHECK IT OUT
blue sky & freefly
Philip
mailto:learn@freeflight.at


Hurricane 135 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: jorma, 2005-05-01


I've put 200+ jumps on my Hurricane 135 and I like it very much! I picked mine up at Icarus in South Africa (through Manny). They were much better at customer service than Chute Shop (as it was called back then).

The Hurricane is a great canopy for a fantastic price. It packs very easily because the material isn't nearly as slippery as most other canopies.

Openings are good, consistent and smooth, and on heading if you steer it a bit.

Glide ratio is very flat when in brakes allowing you to stay up there and get back when you need to.

The canopy builds up quite a lot speed when flown right. I do 180 hook turns on my front risers, making deep carving turns, and I get pretty decent swoops out of it. The canopy is very solid and predictable and can be flown conservatively when you need to land in a tight spot.

Put it at the top of your demo list if you're in the market for a non-cross-braced elliptical. The price / performance is second to none!


Very nice canopy 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: GavinG, 2004-08-31


I have just bought my first Hurricane canopy (120sq ft) and I LOVE IT. Great openings! It performs very well in strong wind conditions (I have only done 4 jumps on it, 2 of which were in 20knt winds). The canopy gives long dives on turns with very little riser pressure. Landings are fast but easily controlled. I ordered mine through Manny at Icarus Air Wear and got it in 6 weeks, no service problems there!!!!

I am only giving this canopy a rating of 4 as I have only done 4 jumps on it and still have a lot to learn about it.


Hurricane canopies rock ! 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: skysaintj, 2003-12-15


I have jumped square,eliptical and cross braced canopies and found that hurricane is the best all rounder for experienced skydivers who does not like to walk far because of a bad spot but still does not want to jump a bus to get back !!
Hurricane landings are very fast if you know how !! what really makes it great is that even though its an elitical the front riser turns will be started higher than normal eliptical canopies,long and fast!!The higher turns is the same characteristics that good cross braced canopies has.Landings on a 105 hurricane was clocked at 70 mph by a radar gun..and ive seen alot faster.Taking all this into consideration the pricetag will scare you cause its so cheap being manufactured in South Africa just a few dollars counts for alot of rand(S.A-currency)No gamble here just good value !!


> >|

GoWrite your own Review