Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for Vortex II Average Rating = 5.00/5 Average Rating : 5.00 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

> >|
Show: Sort by: Display:

What a great first rig... 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: luvin2bfree, 2014-04-21


I bought this rig in the spring of 2013 so I have been jumping it for almost a year (about 70-80 jumps). The rig is inexpensive with great quality and comfort. I ordered all the extras including padding, articulating harness, stainless components. It was shipped on time and arrived in BC within 2 weeks of shipping. Myself and others have jumped it and really like it. as it is my first rig I needed it to fit a 170 because I was not quite ready to go to a 150 when I made my purchase. i have now gone to a 150 and it still fits great. They say I can also downsize to a 135 and seeing the fit I have no doubts. This rig will last me a very long time and was much less in cost than any other new custom rig I could find. Lets be honest this freed up $$$100's for jumps. My dealer is Bryan Cavage and he has been quick to respond to questions and patient with me when it was getting close to ship date and had none. I just ordered and received a Hurricane 150 custom parachute and colored risers to match my rig. I will review once I have a few more jumps but the first two were fantastic. Customer service has been fabulous and quick


Xranger

Nicest rig I've seen yet, glad its mine! 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Xranger, 2013-07-03


After jumping an older Vector 2 as my first rig I was in the market for a new custom container. After months of doing my own research I could not find a better deal than Parachute Systems Vortex II.

The fact that all the extras are included in the base price is a huge plus to this rig. My rigger who's partial to Infinity gave me his blessing, commenting on how well made Vortexes are. The customer service was great, I dealt with Manny at Icarus in South Africa, really nice guy who went the extra mile emailing me at all hours of the day with my many questions. They gave me updates on the process, and walked me through everything.

I saved so much money in choosing a Vortex II that I bought a brand new reserve and used main from Manny as well, and still came out paying what some companies charge for just a container!

Getting the Vortex II set up by my rigger was a great thing to watch, having him explain the ins and outs of the Vortex and the fact he likes packing them made me feel good. Has the extra riser protection flap, and the bridal protection is something that amazes me, talk about a freefly friendly rig...this is it.

And like others have said, I can't believe more people don't go for a Vortex II. Even though the price is great and I hit on that fact quite a bit, they are built tough and beautiful looking at the same time, I just get that feeling of solid craftsmanship when putting the rig on.

Well thats all I got, I'll probably update the review in a 100 jumps!

RLTW


All comments I've read about this container in Dropzone are true... 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Eldevor, 2011-04-05


I recently adquired a second hand Parachute Systems rig consisting of the Vortex II container and Hurricane main canopy. The rig is 4 years old with nearly 400 jumps and still looks new.

It is my very first rig and I read everything I could before testing and purchasing it. I have to say that all the comments in Dropzone helped me a lot. Everything I've read here is completely true. I would stress its excellent quality, comfy fitting and safety.

If you are looking for a container, don't hesitate to give a Vortex II a go.


Vortex II - a great alternative to the better known brands 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: StraightEdge, 2010-11-11


I am surprised that not more jumpers use the Vortex II container/harness system. There are about five at my DZ, but I have met jumpers from other DZs who have never heard of it. Too, I have met jumpers who are prejudiced against it because they say it copies the Javelin Odyssey, or that it is made in South Africa. My first container was a Vortex II made to my specifications, and it proved to be a comfortable, durable and good-looking item of gear. I have since obtained a smaller Vortex II that was going for a great price and I love it! This container benefits from sound, TSO'd construction and comes in cheaper than the big names, with a shorter delivery time. Various mods and options are available. A great first container for those who want to buy new and can't afford to order from the market leaders.


Vortex II is a winner! 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: cpg90, 2010-08-09


I received my new Vortex this spring and have am thrilled with the quality, safety, appearance, comfort and performance. Match that with a price that is very reasonable Ė especially when you add in the options Ė and the Vortex II is a great choice.

I found that the rig with options was actually less than the base rig with no options for the other manufacturers. I recomend the back pad and custom embroidery. The back pad with the lateral cut-ins is super comfortable, although it takes 20 or so jumps for the pad to conform to your body. I definitely recommend this option on this rig.

Looking a the Vortex it is a pop top but with a proportional tuck-up main flap. I like the tuck-up concept better than other alternatives. I also got double pin stripes on my Vortex, which I havenít seen on other systems.

My only dislike is the Vortex logo looks odd. I suggest you ask to have the Vortex logo in 2 colors as it makes it more interesting. Small thing, I know.

The materials and build quality is truly excellent. Iíve noticed that the newer Vortex IIís have great flap coverage. I also like the backpad, new Cypres control position and bottom flap designs. It was delivered within 1 week of the date promised.


vortex II 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: POOT, 2009-03-30


I have junped all rigs on the market except the vector and I can honestly say its the best container out there, you will not beat the price, service or safety of this rig.
I have flown my various vortex's in all orientations and have never had a flap open or had my flying affected by the rig moving.
I am now have my latest rig with lateral cut ins, full stainless hardware including hip and chest rings and its a joy to fly, I honestly dont even feel it in freeall.
forget the more well known expensive long time delivery rigs.
If you want to fly the best GET A VORTEX!


surfbum5412

Great Rig 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: surfbum5412, 2008-09-07


Recently I was able to demo one of these. I had never heard of a Vortex and immediately I was blown away. It was really comfy and I felt safe wearing it. No complaints other than, and I'm not sure if they offer the option, but the one I demoed didn't have cut-in laterals. That was a little bit of a let down.


I'm sold on the Vortex . 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Larry4fun, 2005-09-15


I'm convinced that the Vortex is one of the best rigs on the market. It looks great and holds up really well.Another thing that really impressed me is the follow up service from Louie T. the U.S. distributer. He's just a phone call away if I need advice or even spare parts.He's always ready to help.


Vortex 2 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: cpives, 2004-08-20


Great container! it looks good, feels good, packs easy, and great value for money! I got this eighteen months ago, and it is the best container I've jumped. Extremely comfortable, especially with the hip and chest rings!


Andrelr

Vortex 2 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Andrelr, 2004-08-04


Just bought my second Vortex 2 (I bought one in 1998 and a Vortex 1 in 1996). I've always been impressed with Parachute Systems' (previously Chute Shop) products. This latest has some great new features such as full riser covers. It's build quality is the best so far and fit perfectly first time.


> >|

GoWrite your own Review