Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for Altimaster Neptune Average Rating = 3.10/5 Average Rating : 3.10 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

> >|
Show: Sort by: Display:
jerolim

Junk 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: jerolim, 2011-03-28


I have latest software, and I use recommended battery brand. Battery is displayed as low as soon as inserted into Neptune. Ditter mode is fine. Altimeter under canopy looks accurate, but back light sometimes switches off. FF Altimeter mode - when I jump from Cessna's and I look at altimeter it sometimes says: "Very slow climb" during freefall it switches to altimeter after 10 seconds or more after exiting plane. Plastic battery cover broke after 3 battery replacements.


Company puts safety second 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: Angela0722, 2011-03-21


I purchased this altimeter right out of AFF. It's been accurate most of the time, with just a few hiccups here or there. My main problem with this altimeter is that two of us with the N2 did a night jump with it last week and while the back light turned on as soon as we exited the air craft, once we were under canopy, it kept turning off. When I initially contacted the company they stated they were aware of the situation but "We have not been able to duplicate the problem in house, therefore not much information is available as to a fix. What our engineers have guessed could be the problem is changes in barometric pressure and canopy speed. For some reason, the unit thinks that the jumper is on the ground and turns the back light off…then when a turn or higher speed maneuver is done, the unit turns back on again." When I pressed them stating that it is a USPA requirement to have illumination on an altimeter and that this is a significant safety issue, they replied that I could send the altimeter in and they would take a look at it. I indicated that I wasn't interested in sending either altimeter in (as one of them had just been "inspected" by them and literally had 3 jumps on it since the inspection). All I was asking is that they let people know that this could occur. They responded and stated that the N2 was being phased out and began pushing me to purchase their N3, which doesn't have this problem. I told them that just because the N2 is being phased out doesn't negate the fact that there are still likely thousands of sky divers out there using and will continue to use the N2 for years to come. . .and all of these sky divers have a right to know about this potential safety hazard. It basically boils down to the fact that this company is aware of the fact that this is a problem and they have blatantly not issued a safety warning. This situation could cause a canopy collision at night by a distracted sky diver trying to get the back light turned back on or someone who can't see it and loses track of altitude. Please be aware of this company's poor attitude towards our safety when considering purchasing one of their products.


It just do what is it made for 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: stefomaroc, 2009-10-31


Nothing else to say.

With the software you can configure prety anything (until the frequency of the sound).

Battery cond work +/- 150 jumps, depending of IR connexio you made between jumps I imagine.

IR connection works well, and transfering data to paralog is really easy.

Anyway, if it could have sound little louder, it whould have be better....
The third alarm is not as violent than on larsen&


Disappointment 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: abyzet, 2009-10-17


I had high hopes for this altimeter right out of the box. Boy was I mistaken. A lot of the cool features require syncing with the computer to obtain them. Problem is it only uses IR, so you have to purchase a separate USB to IR adapter (most computers DON'T have them anymore...). Even with the adapter don't count on the software communicating with the product. Also gives ridiculous readings on free fall speeds. Will often get 300 MPH out the door. Ummmm? No. The log feature would be nice if you could set the sampling altitudes, but again you have to sync it, as well as more than 2 aircraft types. Honestly, go with an L & B product. You'd be better off.


Neptune 3 Audio - N3A 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: adisky, 2009-08-22


SIMPLY AWESOME!!!

I have just done my first jump on the new N3A. There is only one thing I can say: Awesome! This audible really gets the skydiving to a new level.
I am often inspired by music, and now I got the inspiration right here with me thanks to N3A. I can listen music all the way up or down, no worry about missing any alarm, the N3A stops the music if things go too quick for you.
I hope this audible will inspire anyone as it did with me.

Thanks Alti 2 for a great deal of work!!


danielshadwick

Altimaster Neptune 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: danielshadwick, 2009-05-20


The Neptune has been a great altimeter for me so far. The altitude read out is always accurate when cross checking with other peoples altimeters. When suited with a rubber protector it is very durable.

However, in my experience the internal logbook has been very inaccurate. I have seen my log function say that I was going as high as 300+ mph under canopy and as low as 30 mph in vertical freefly.

Also, I would like to say that I have never dowloaded any new software from there website. My review is on one neptune straight from the manufacture. (I have heard that there is better software out there).

For the most part it has not failed me in freefall. I once watched the altitude reading get higher while in freefall. (Although it was when I was transitioning from back to belly in a track, which could happen with any altimeter because of the pressure differece). Also once in a while my neptune will remain in canopy mode throughout the entire freefall (which isn't a big deal if you don't mind reading four digits in freefall) Also, canopy mode can be turned off.

I have owned my Neptune for about three years now and have had to replace the batteries a handfull of times per year (and they are expensive around $5, but not difficult to find).
The audible function seems pretty decent but have not used it that much.

The clock on the neptune (in my opinion) should be taken off the list of functions. This is proved very quickly by asking the time in any crowd of skydivers. CAN NOT HOLD TIME! But who cares about time when distance from the ground is all that matters.

The MENU is great. I have never had to use the DZ setup. My neptune knows when i'm on the ground or in the sky. But has a Manual setup when the landing altitude is differn't from take off altitude. The Altimeters MENU also has a training altimeter for read out and audible alarms (which is fun when your in AFF or a newbie of anykind).

The backlight function seems to only work when pushing buttons(kinda like a cellphone) and dosen't have much of a night jump advantage. (let me know if there is a night jump type function).

Great accuracy. When I look at my neptune I trust the altitude reading.


I use two neptunes 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: TheDZKID, 2009-01-29


I use two neptunes. One as an audible and one as a wrist-mounted altimeter --both as logbooks. I bought the first one three years ago at DeLand. It worked the first time and every time after that. I replaced the battery about every 150 jumps, or six months. I mainly used it as an audible and a logbook.

I loved it so much that a year ago I ordered a neptune2. It worked fine, at first, but then it started shutting off when tapped. So I had some freefalls with just my neptune in my helmet. Turns out the battery went bad, fast -- in like a month. So I replaced it with the extra battery that came with it. It too went bad pretty fast. So replaced it again with a battery from Square 3. It went bad in about a month too. So now I went to radioshack and bought a generic bettery, maybe it will work better?

When I talked to alti-2 they said the normal battery life is 3 months.

So I have one good neptune and one not-so-good neptune2. I don't know what they did in-between, but I prefer the older one. Still works great.


surfbum5412

What's up with the battery?? 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: surfbum5412, 2009-01-20


love my neptune. the thing that I like the most versus my previous altimeter (alti-2 galaxy) is that it's a lot smaller so it easily can be mounted on the wrist, rather than attching at the fingers as well; the log book is awesome because I always forget to manually log my jumps in my book; and the MPH thing that shows different speeds throughout the jump; also the altitude displayed is much more easily readable than the VISO.

The only thing I have noticed since purchasing this thing is that the battery life is half way gone!! WTF!!


wingsuit and neptune 1 out of 5 stars

Review by: skydvrvalco, 2008-05-11


I bought my Neptune around jump number 100 when I bought my rig. I WAS very happy with all of its features. THEN....I started flying a wingsuit. Extended freefall time is enjoyed with the wingsuit BUT..The Neptune often fails to register exit altitude until I reach higher speeds. Often I am robbed of several thousand feet and many precious freefall seconds. My first attempt to get some help from alti via telephone resulted in a promise of an email which never happened. Months latter a second call I was told that the techs would be asked and I would be called back. I did receive the return call at which point I was informed that that's just the way it is. I wish now I had done more research before giving 250 bucks for a device that doesn't accommodate my favorite skydiving discipline. If your gonna fly a wingsuit you may wanna get something else :(


ozzy13

I love it 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: ozzy13, 2008-01-29


I love my Neptune. I disagree with everyone that said the batteries go quick. I jump all the time. At least 4 days a week during the season and only replace batteries once. You have to make should you don't have it in back light mode. Other then that I love it and recommend it to everyone


> >|

GoWrite your own Review