Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for Smart Average Rating = 4.84/5 Average Rating : 4.84 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

> >|
Show: Sort by: Display:

One ride and I liked it. 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: Anachronist, 2013-08-11


Had a PC in tow on a wingsuit jump and had to dump my Smart 190. Deployment was brisk but not uncomfortable, it would be ok for every jump. Had about a 720 of line twists (almost certainly my fault) but she flew solid as a rock while I took my time unwinding. Nice flight characteristics and a bit of a soft flare but I guess that's to be expected. I walked away from a downwind landing off the DZ so it was certainly good enough. :) The only con is that it seems to pack a size or so larger than other reserves of equal size. Reference UPT's and Mirage's container pack charts and you'll see. And where more reserve is usually better I would call that a con. Other than that I'd give it a 5 star rating.


Smart 120 @ 1.75 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: stayhigh, 2012-02-15


I wish control lines were lengthened by an 1 1/2 inches or so.
While chasing my stuff down in deep breaks I felt it stall for a moment, however I do have freakishly long arms and I use 26 inch risers.

If you have normal arm length you should be alright.

Used Smart 175 at 1.2 and Smart 120 at 1.75. I would not wanna load this thing more than 1.9, and that is just a personal opinion.


Smart 190 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: aaroncosbey, 2010-10-29


Line over malfunction on jump #43... Deployed at 3.8K/ft tried to fly the canopy to 2800 before chopping. Chopped as I was spinning backwards and didn't have enough time to get stable before pulling as an RSL was connected! Nice big white canopy above my head, easy to steer, OK flare on landing with a 1:1 W/L, hopefully wont have to fly it again :)
Good experience...


It taunts me 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Ibew102, 2010-04-05


It worked, stood the landing up, 176 flares nice a smooth.

It says smart on the canopy... but what you just did was dumb... it will taunt you too


pinkfairy

Never felt safer 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: pinkfairy, 2009-07-28


...than under my Aerodyne Smart 135 wingloaded at 1:1. Really big, powerful flare, really resistant to imbalance in the harness, a really boring canopy, just like a reserve is supposed to be. Can't say much about the opening, it was really nice and soft and on heading, but most canopies have comfortable openings at sub terminal.

It works, it's not expensive, I'm getting another one for my new rig.


dragon2

I likes :-) 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: dragon2, 2009-05-23


I was supposed to demo a Smart 120 this weekend but got to jump mine for real on saturday, so no demo needed anymore :-) WL about 1.45. My Smart opened fine after my cutaway, on heading, and it has a good flare: without adding speed I stood up my landing in about zero wind no problem, and this after starting the flare a bit too high. It does fly pretty steep. This reserve is highly recommended :-)


Etch5

Demo Reserve Ride 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Etch5, 2009-05-11


Took advantage of an Aerodyne demo over the weekend and jumped a Smart 175. Although it was PRO packed as my main the opening was quick and on heading. Control was great, very docile. Flare was great, no problem landing the canopy. Note that this was not an actual reserve ride, but a testament to the flight characteristics of the reserve itself.


brinary01

It will be ok 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: brinary01, 2009-04-11


SO the first question is how to rate a canopy I have only flown once, sense the only thing I have to compare with are various main canopies I will compare all the canopies with cars. Everyone here drives assume and I imagine most everyone reading this has pushed many cars to the limit. So here is the line up
Saber 2 190 = Ford focus ST
Navigator 210 = Ford Ranger Sport
Vengeance 170 = Honda civic SI
Smart 175 = Ford Focus LX
First sense I was in a dive below 2000FT My body position was Sh!7 none the less the Smart opened nicely on heading. Flight was very smooth and predictable. The flare was nice and predictable. In the end how can you really rate something that is the last resort it opened, I landed on the DZ, I lived to jump another day you will not be disappointed in a reserve canopy.


reserve 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: skyhook21, 2009-02-23


I had a low speed transfer on to a smart 150 it had a great opening it flew great it had a nice flair for an f111 canopy I would recomend it for anyone


MasterOfMagic

Saved My Live Twice 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: MasterOfMagic, 2008-11-09


Can't say much about this reserve but it saved my life twice in one week.
It was on rental gear but my next own reserve would be a Smart.


> >|

GoWrite your own Review