Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for Pilot popular Average Rating = 4.67/5 Average Rating : 4.67 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

> >|
Show: Sort by: Display:

Aerodyne Pilot 230 first impressions 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: katzas, 2014-07-23


They say you never get a second chance to make a first impression.
Well, that holds true for canopies too. As a veteran of seven cells and rental Navigators this canopy had some surprises. Responsiveness--loaded at about 1.2--makes a Navigator feel like a truck. I watched it open--and while I didn't watch my alitmeter I think it took about 4 seconds from throwing the PC to full canopy. No end cell issues, no spank, no off heading issues...just a beautiful canopy overhead.

Pull a toggle and watch it turn--instantly. Go to half brakes and feel it slow down and almost "float" along. Pull the toggles to arm's length and it stops--right now. Keep the toggles buried and it will stall.....but it thinks about it for a little while.

I overshot the peas big time in light and variable winds, had the toggles buried and it simply would not stop flying. Fortunately there was a nice little green spot in front of a fence......

So--am I happy with the Pilot? Yes....will it take some time to get to know it? Of course. I think we will be friends for a long time.


188 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: JamesDoyle, 2014-05-31


I have performed a couple of hundred jumps on my 188 . I am inspired to write his on the back of a ride on a Sabre 2 170 ride .
The Pilot has a nice glide , can be great fun and be tamed into a fun canopy . Good for wind and no wind situations , deep spot safe rides home . A great canopy if you are not a jumpaholic but still wanna bit of a performing canopy in the air.The landings are fine but it aint no swoop machine.


CCGV19

Pilot 210 ZPX Review 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: CCGV19, 2014-01-27


I tried different canopies after earning my A. I really enjoyed the Pulse, Sabre 2 and Pilot. I went with a Pilot 210 in ZPX. First off it is a blast. I was debating to go with the 188 but feel that the 210 still zips and gives the user lots of control while at the same time can be very forgiving. At first the ZPX was pretty hard to pack because of being slippery and because I am not the best packer. I have found that it fits into a smaller container than a 210 normally would.

This canopy is a lot of fun to fly and has a really good flare. I have not had any off heading openings or back breakers. It is very consistent and I would recommend to anyone as a great novice to advanced canopy. If you put it through its paces it is right there to respond and give you a great ride.

I custom ordered mine with custom colors and the Aerodyme team did an excellent job sending me color patch before I completed the order when I had questions. They also did a great job getting it to me before I had expected to receive it! I will buy another one when it is time to downsize.

Edited: I know own the 188 and love it even more. There is a reason they call it the Pilot it flies like a dream and is delightful when it opens. As far as harness turns and riser input well it makes me smile all day long and can also be a blast when dialing in aggressive landings.


Pilot 210 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: BrendonCCA, 2014-01-07


Jumped my Pilot 210 at the desert boogie in Namibia.

What an awesome canopy. We had a few bad spots where we need to travel long distances. Two times I didn't make it back, but the distance I managed to cover was remarkable. I load the wing 1.8. So I'm impressed.

The wing also reacts exceptionally well. turns are fast and crisp with easy flaring out. I have been able to do lower turns safely with plenty of reserve to flare and land like a baby being put into a cot.

I have to admit that this is the most fun canopy I have ever jumped.


All around excellent. 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: Anachronist, 2013-08-11


Have put about 20 jumps on a Pilot 210. The openings are smooth and on heading, good positive control on the toggles and rears. The flare is easy to time and plenty powerful. Even had a couple line twisted up deployments on a wingsuit but the Pilot flew along as though nothing was wrong as I spun out of them. It tends to pack a size larger than other canopies of the same square footage. If not for that then I'd have given it a 5 star rating.


pre7117

pilot 150 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: pre7117, 2013-06-10


Tried out one this weekend and like the canopy. it opened on heading every jump nice a soft. Turns where quick and crisp with very little input and the flare was good. The glide on it was flat and it didnt want to land, had a hard time getting to my spot. Had to use alot of front risers to get it to come down. over all a nice canopy, great for novice.


188 ZPX Pilot 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: jordanginter, 2012-08-20


My first canopy off student gear and it opens soft, flys stable and flares amazing. i put a 1.2 WL on it so it turns quick! recommended for anyone


Highly recommend 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: MotherGoose, 2012-08-10


Onto my 9th canopy since student status and I think I've found my home. 1250 jumps flying a pilot 140 at 1.8WL. Fast and fun yet safe. Great landings, even a nice turf surf can be achieved (not competing in canopy piloting world championships any time soon). Great on demo jumps, decent on long spots and practically packs itself, even brand new ZP is easy peasy. Will be hard pressed to switch to another canopy.


168' Pilot ZPX 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: barbs666, 2012-05-14


Hi have put about 6 jumps on my brand new ZPX Pilot.

I am very impressed with this canopy and for a 168' it is more than I expected and am happy that I didnt downsize to 150' !!
I have a about 1.1 loading.
Even on my first canopy (150') this 168' easily out-performs it in turn responsiveness and in the landing.
it seems to have decent forward speed and was jumping in 18kt winds.

for a new canopy, it is reasonably easy to pack (still slippery) but from memory even ZP used canopies were only slightly easier.

I can see myself definately sticking with Pilot for a long time!

Do yourself a favour and test jump one or just buy it!

The ZPX seems to pack a little smaller, but I would have thought 17% would be hugely noticable, but I am sure that this will improve after breaking in a little (ie.50-100 jumps).....and also when my packing technique improves also ;-)

I can see why all the reviews are mostly positive for this canopy!

Blue Skies!


pilot 150 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: robes, 2012-04-04


Love it but no one wants to pack it. Can it be flat packed?


> >|

GoWrite your own Review