Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for FF1 Average Rating = 4.88/5 Average Rating : 4.88 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

Show: Sort by: Display:

2K FF1 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: Mr.C, 2010-10-04


I recently received and jumped my FF1 helmet from 2K Composites. The wrong size was ordered, but they helped me get the correct liner fast. Their customer service is excellent. I received it weeks before I originally expected it. Good price for a helmet that to me seems is of better quality than some of the expensive ones.
It is very comfortable and looks great.
Not bulky. Not everyone has one. Nice to have a quality helmet, but different than all of the most popular ones.
Warm on the cold days.


mgoldade

Liked it so much I became a dealer! 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: mgoldade, 2007-09-18


Truly the best helmet I have ever owned! The fit is perfect, the delivery was right on schedule, and my custom paintjob was done perfectly! Great job guys!!!!


2K FF1 helmet 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Katherine, 2006-10-18


Nice helmet. Good fit and is very well padded which is great as it really does deaden the noise of the plane. I feel like it offers much more protection that other open faces, although I have not had to test this out! Holds 2 audiables securly behind the padding with elastic, I have never felt like they could come out once the helmet is on. Only real bad point is that the edging around the back is coming off, happening on a few other peoples helmets too. Would be easily fixed by super glue, I just haven't got around to it yet.


2K Composites FF1 Helmet 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: mdh, 2005-12-18


As a new skydiver I spent a bit of time looking around to find the best kit for me to spend my hard earned pennies on, whilst not blowing a load of money on something that was "more form than function".

The FF1 wins all round in this respect. Clearly a very well made helmet (compared to other brands, rock climbing and mountaineering helmets too!) that had a great fit, well padded and looks good too.

The internal padding does a good job of keeping in place your two internal audibles (room for one inside, on each side) as well as ensuring a tight fit and also having the spin-off benefit of protecting your hearing when the door opens!

I ordered mine directly from the manufacturer. All I needed to do was measure the circumference of the widest part of my head and choose a colour. The colour schemes are fairly safe, solid black, blue, red and the like.

You realise that you are dealing with a niche supplier when they tell you that each lid is made-to-order, so no, you can't have it sooner if you don't mind what colour you have!

That said, the service was impeccable. The helmet arrived within the 5 week delivery estimate, well packed and as ordered.

It might not be as easy to buy as an off-the-shelf Gath, but you'll know it was worth the wait when it arrives!



Excellent Helmet, excellent customer service..how refreshing!! 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: DommyG, 2005-11-07


Brought an FF1 from 2k around May. The customer service was absolutely fantastic, so much so that when I drove down to their workshop to pick the lid up they made a new lining for me then and there so the helmet fit like a glove.
I've been really pleased with the helmet, still really snug,comfortable and warm the audible is always loud and clear. For the sake of 5 quid between the ff1 and a gath theres no competition. Highly recommended.


2K Composites FF1 Helmet 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: yoink, 2004-09-30


The FF1 is by far the comfiest helmet I've ever tried on and it fits beautifully. Customer service was excellent. The build quality is fantastic and it looks cool as well... ;) What more could you ask for in a freefly helmet?
Massively reccomended.



FF1 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: mr2mk1g, 2004-07-27


The price of this helmet places it as competing against things like the Gath but at that price this helmet offers a hard skin with luxurious padding and twin internal audible ports. It simply outclasses any other in itís price bracket offering features which mean it is the equal of any bonehead lid.

I have this helmet as my camera-free open face and couldnít be happier. Friends have this same helmet with the camera mods that are available from the factory starting at £25. Simply add a chin cup and one of these mod plates (top or side or both) at the time of purchase or later when you take up camera and you have yourself a full camera helmet free of the usual snag points found on many home made mounts.

Itís light, cheap and comfortable offering all the protection and features to be found on any helmet hundreds of dollars more expensive.


Good skid lid 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: SkydiveMonkey, 2002-06-14


Fits nice, holds 2 audibles nicely (covered as well), delivery was quite fast as well. Should provide lots of protection (haven't needed it yet).


GoWrite your own Review