Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for Freefly Suit Average Rating = 4.45/5 Average Rating : 4.45 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

> >|
Show: Sort by: Display:
NeonLights

Custom freefly suit 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: NeonLights, 2012-11-21


I asked Sherry to make me a completely custom suit. I explained what I wanted and she sent me a computer graphic that was even better than I expected. She was extremely helpful and always got back to me immediately. When I received the suit, its quality and attention to detail was awesome. Here is the best part.... My COMPLETELY custom design was at my door in less than 2 weeks!!!! Liquid sky quoted me more money, AND a 6 month lead time. If you want a great suit, with great customer service and low lead time, check out firefly.


zerospinskier

Great suit! 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: zerospinskier, 2012-09-26


First, I ordered my suit through Chelsea at GrenLightIsOn, who did a great job of relaying all my information to Sherry at FireFly and keeping me updated. Definitely go through her to order any FireFly product!

This is my first suit, so I did not have much of an idea what to expect. My freefly coaches told me to make sure I get my suit tight, because I am a pretty skinny/tall guy and fall very slowly. I did not have a lot of money to spend, so I decided to go with FireFly as they offered the cheapest freefly suits. Now, nothing on the site looked like something that would be super tight like a Tonfly or Liquid Sky, but I assumed I could get something that would work.

I added notes to my Rigby order that I wanted the suit nice and tight, with t-shirt length sleeves, and didn't really need/want the stripes on the side. Sherry told me it was all doable, but would require a different cut on the suit with elastic panels and an extra $50 charge. She sent me a mock up of the design to be approved before it was made.

Soon after I had the suit at my door. Overall, I am very pleased with how it turned out. The quality is awesome, and it looks sweet! The only cons I could possibly add would be the fact that an extra tight suit like this may benifit from some extra body measurements when placing the order. Compared to other manufacturers, FireFly's order form has fewer measurements to fill out. It seems this added a little more assumptions to the order, which if eliminated, could add more comfort and better fit to the design. This is being fairly picky though. It still fits great and I can't wait to get in the air with it! I am waiting on a healing shoulder at the moment, but I will post again once the suit gets some use with how it feels in the sky and the durability.


Very pleased 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: goldenbrown21, 2011-05-24


I received my freefly suit within the lead time, and was very pleased with the quality of the material and the workmanship on the suit. Plenty of pockets and reasonably priced, I would definitely consider a FireFly suit again.

I've bought and used suits from other vendors, and I rate this one very highly in comparison.


delivery time and sizing 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: l43psr, 2011-04-23


I was told my suit would be ready in 6 weeks, it took 3 months and that's after I contacted them via email 2 and a half months into the wait to find out they hadn't even started the cut. Then it finally arrived and the legs and arms are too long, and around the bicept area is too tight. I'm afraid to send it back for fear of waiting another 3 months.


txlottowinner

Love my firefly suits 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: txlottowinner, 2008-01-31


Sherri once again hits the nail on the head with my firefly suit. I even ordered another for slower flying because my first one holds up so well. Getting one out is often a planned process(better order it ahead of time), but when it comes in it is like christmas day. I have absolutely trashed mine sliding in hot and dipping it a few time in the pond and all I do is just throw it in the washing machine and its as good as new. No color fades and the coolmax liner(recomended if you live south of hell like myself in houston)keeps the suit from sticking to me in the hot humid summer. Just take a look at the stiching if someone you know has one,and its not hard to understand why this suit is built to last. It's also at a great price, even with custom work additions compared to other manufacturers, which seem to severely bump their price for a few addons. I love my firefly suit, and it's funny, I seem to see more and more here in texas, guess there's a pretty good reason for that!


Can't make delivery times, can't make it the size and fit requested 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: headoverheels, 2007-12-28


I ordered my freefly suit to fit pretty tight, as I'm 5'10" and under 140 pounds. Not only was the delivery much longer than promised, it was not a trim cut. So too slow and too much floppy material. The arms are also a bit long, as are the legs, but the real oversize is the torso length, which is much too long. The torso length would not so critical for skydiving, since the legstraps pull up the slack, but with no rig (for the tunnel) it just hangs on me. It seems that their philosophy is just make it too big and hope for no complaint, rather than make it fit and risk making it too small.


Firefly freefly suit, good construction NO customer service 2 out of 5 stars

Review by: boz2841, 2007-07-11


I originally ordered my suit in April after reading many reviews and forums in decided on Firefly due to their reputation. I had a local tailor take measurements for me with the measurement guide from the Firefly website. And since receiving the jumpsuit have double checked the measurements I provided against remeasuring myself. The measurements I provided were correct! the suit I received on the other hand is so far off measurement-wise I truly doubt that they even used my measurements at all. The legs are a good 5 inches too long the arms are a good 2 inches too long the crotch is at least 3 inches too low and the waist is a bit on the tight side. I have tried repeatedly to contact anyone at Firefly to resolve this issue however the only reply I received was a letter stating the pictures I provided were not good enough to tell the suit fit incorrectly. To which I provided several more photos each with the same response untill now in July they have totally stopped responding to me at all. As far as the photos I provided not being enough to tell that the suit does not fit properly I would think and hope that maybe a company would take a customers word for it when that say something is wrong with their order. Anyway I am extremely disappointed with this company and will warn everyone I know not to use them.
I will admit the suit itself does seem to be of good quality but I will never truly know as I am unable to wear my $250 suit in the condition it is in. I have however taken it to my tailor to see what they can do about the sizing. Of course this means I have to dish out more cash. PS I only gave them a rating of 2 instead of a one cause it does seem to be decent quality if you get one that fits.


Kudos for Firefly Suits - Get one!!!!! 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: JustChuteMeNow, 2007-05-16


Sherry's suits are great and as a rigger, I pay attention to sewing intricacies. These suits are solid. I ordered a two piece suit and both the top and the bottom fit perfectly the first time. It even arrived early.
Sherry helped me decide what type of suit and pattern that I wanted and her suggestions were again perfect. If you want a quality suit from a person that is easy to work with, get a firefly suit.


v stripe freefly suit 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: 2shay, 2007-02-23


Sherry the owner, is an excellent person to work with. She knew exactly what i wanted before i could tell her. I told her my size and how i fly and she put it all together and she had it on my doorstep the day i asked her to. The suit really looks fantastic. Awesome job Sherry!!! Thanks


Love it 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: TheGirlWonder, 2006-10-27


This is my first jumpsuit. I walked into the gear store and told them I wanted to be a freeflyer and they got me all measured up and ordered a Firefly for me. I dont have experience with any other suits, but all I know is that I get a ton of compliments every weekend on how hot my jumpsuit is. Im a floater and so the suit fits like a glove... perfect. Couldnt be happier with my first suit.


> >|

GoWrite your own Review