Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for Safire 2 popular Average Rating = 4.80/5 Average Rating : 4.80 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

> >|
Show: Sort by: Display:
ricardop0318

Safire vs Sabre 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: ricardop0318, 2014-01-05


Icarus got this one. After about 300 jumps between the two, I have to say that the Safire is a dream canopy in comparison to the unpredictable Sabre2. I like them both but Safire opens and behaves smoother. My two cents


Very safe 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: Bartskydive, 2013-09-03


After suffered a very hard opening on my trusty Sabre 2 190 (packing error!) which tore the Sabre, my rigger loaned me a demo Saffire 2. I weigh 100 kg so load it at approx 1.3.
After having put more than 500 jumps on the Sabre 2 and now about 15 on the Saffire, there is some good comparison between the two I would think.
For one, the lines of the Saffire are longer, probably tens of centimeters. Openings are a lot more consistent than a Sabre 2, not necessarily softer; my Sabre could open beautifully soft and on heading, but just not consistently so and had a tendency of turning on inflation.
The glide is MUCH flatter than the Sabre which is good because it will get you home and bad because it makes accurate landings more difficult. Imagine a very flat angle with angular scatter covers more area on the ground that the same scatter at a steeper angle. But generally it enhances safety.
Also in heavy traffic you can slow it down more than a Sabre 2 and stay up forever and wait for all the fast guys to clear the skies and land last.
Flare is markedly less than the Sabre 2. Didn't stand up landings a couple of times in zero wind conditions which very rarely happened with my Sabre.
No doubt the Saffire is a very safe canopy and a valuable piece of kit that takes well care of you but personally I'm not so sure if I would buy it and want to demo some other canopies before I decide. Mainly because I'm used to land exactly where I want and don't like to over or under shoot. With the flat angle of the Saffire I'm overshooting all the time and really need some getting used to.


Icarus Safire 2 169 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: krisd, 2012-07-27


I have recently done about 50 jumps on my new (secondhand, bought it when it had about 350 jumps)Safire 2 169. I have an exit weight of 92 kg, so WL around 1.21.

I have no other canopies in the same league to compare too. Other canopies I've jumped where either old big 7 cells (Fury 220) or student canopies (Manta 280).

I've started jumping my Safire when I had a total of 50 jumps.

I find it a very fun canopy to fly. It's predictable, has good and SOFT openings. If you keep your body position stable while deploying, you're going to have a smooth opening.

No cons so far.

Landing it is no problem. Canopy has lots of flare. I use a two-stage flare. Had one rough landing, but that was completely my fault. I don't blame the canopy for this.

You won't regret it if you get one.

For now I will continue jumping my Safire and if I will downsize one day, I'm going to look for a Safire II one size smaller! I like it!



wazdiver

Would recommend the Safire 2 to any intermediate jumper 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: wazdiver, 2011-12-28


I ended last season getting rid of a 168 pilot to purchase a new rig which came with a fusion 175. I got rid of the piece of junk VERY rapidly, demoed a Sabre 2, 150 and then settled on a Safire 2, 149 after demoing it. I absolutely love the canopy. Great fun to fly. I wing load it at 1:1.34 and it is simply a great canopy. The openings are soft and on heading. I have experienced just a bit of delayed end cell opening, but that has more to do with the way I pack it. It's glide ratio is much flatter than a Sabre 2 of the same size so getting back from long spots is much easier. It handles well in all sorts of conditions, has a quick recovery arc and a great flare. I would recommend this canopy to anyone as an intermediate to advanced canopy depending on wing loading.


Stearny

Best openings ever........ 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: Stearny, 2011-10-16


I bought my safire2 189 (WL ~ 0.97) used with 200 jumps on it. I have put about 10 jumps on the canopy thus far. The openings are as everyone has stated consistently extremely soft and on heading. I have not had an opening more than 500 ft with a normal pro pack (not messing with nose). Maybe I am just a shitty packer but I have a hell of a time putting the canopy in the bag / closing my mirage g4 m6 (mirage recommends a safire2 189 to be the smallest "soft" fit). You would think it would have no problem fitting???

I have also put about 15 jumps on a sabre2 190. The sabre2 was much more responsive to toggle inputs, and riser pressure was much lighter. However, the glide slope on the safire2 is much flatter compared to the steeper sabre2. Openings on a sabre2 are complete shit when compared to a safire2. Amount of flare was very comparable, not much difference.

The biggest selling point of the safire2 to me were the amazing openings. I am a rather conservative pilot and don't plan on changing for a while. When I downsize to a 170 I will probably be going with more aggressive sabre2 or nitron.



Rigless

Safire2 129 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Rigless, 2011-07-31


I recently got a brand new custom Safire2 129 from NZaerosports. I load it at around 1.2 and if I add some lead I get to 1.3 and then you can notice the difference in flight, more speed, snappier.. The recovery arc is a bit short, but that depends on the wingloading, the higher the WL the longer the rec arc becomes (not to mention my poor swooping technique, since I'm just beginning in this discipline..).

The openings are long as soft as everyone says, but I wouldn't say they're super duper long that you could have an intermission while watching it open..

The glide is amazing, flare is very powerful, but you have to go all the way ;)

Packing was hell at first since I'm a lazy ass bad packer, but the material "fell into place" after say 20-30 jumps, it got some damp over some jumps and now it's a breeze to pack it, yet the canopy still flies beautifully..

Overall I'm very satisfied with this canopy, soft openings, it's quite fast and snappy for it's category, super awesome glide with a very powerful flare and great material that becomes easy to pack quite fast if you buy new :)



Safire 2 149 @ 1.4 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: aaroncosbey, 2010-12-19


Compared to my sabre 2, theres no end cell closure to waste time dealing with, the openings are soft and on-heading (this never happened with the sabre 2 or electra).
Some would say the openings take too long (mine were always sub 1000ft with the standard D-Bag).
There are ways to address this:
1. Dont roll the nose (theres no need with this canopy) and if you want quicker openings get a magnetic lazy bag (www.compal.be)....
Mine works a treat and gives me sweet openings, no line twists, and most importantly 'no Fecking bungees' :)
Theres plenty of flare power, harness input is sweet (not as good as the old electra loaded @ 1.25).
Front riser pressure is light compared to the sabre and electra. Recovery arc is nice 'n short.
Best semi-elip canopy on the market....

Crossfire next :D


its a great tool 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: clustermagnet, 2009-11-11


comparing to
safire2 300+
sabre 1 (200 jumps on them)
sabre 2 (50 jumps)
stiletto 10 jumps (fun spinning madness)

chose the canopy because of super nice openings that are nice to my back if you jump 10+ times/day

learn the flare of this canopy, its not the same as PD...

in my inexperienced hands, the canopy flies similar to sabre2, almost identical.

The openings can be a bit scary, constant 1K+ foot openings. I have had 1 hard opening on this canopy... just like my team mate who got slammed on a spectre few weeks back. i guess anything can slam.


Jeth

Nice canopy but not for me 3 out of 5 stars

Review by: Jeth, 2009-08-05


I recently demoed a Safire 2 149. I was looking to downsize from my Pilot 168, which I've jumped for about 200 jumps. I found that the Safire was not what I was looking for. People say that the openings are super soft. For me - that means way too long and no feedback. I like to pitch and feel the tension in the risers right away, and I did not get that with the Safire. It also sniveled way too long for me. There is a difference between quick and hard. I like a quick opening which is still soft.
The canopy also didn't really perform like I wanted. The Safire was sluggish in turns, and I had to bury the toggles all the way down to get a good flare. I previously demoed a Pilot 150 and it was much more responsive. I was previously under-loaded, and was looking for better performance at about a 1.2 wing-loading. I did not get that with the Safire.
I think this canopy would be great for beginners, or possibly at a much higher wing-loading. But for WL around 1:1, looking for a little more performance, it did not deliver.


Great Experience 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: druvaughn, 2009-07-08


I currently have a Safire 2 209 (1.37), and have done 300+/- jumps with it.

Demo the 189 (1.51) for 25-30 jumps

Took the canopy straight from the demo team at Skyfest. This interaction was certainly a positive experience -- took my CC on the spot and sent me on my way.

Openings -- seemed to be a little more consistently on heading than my 209 has been which is surprising. Had one bad opening with twists, but happy to blame that as much on operator error. A good snivel and never really got smacked; typical opening about 800-900ft. As soft at terminal as H&P...

Flying -- lighter fronts than my 209, and the rears had a very late stall point. Responsive to any inputs, and I was extremely happy with the harness turns which I have been unable to really use on the 209 (size or wing loading I suspect). Can make it float a little for cross counties with rears or brakes which is nice, and I was surprised that I had to lengthen my traditional final, as I was over shooting my early approaches.

Flare -- every bit as strong as my 209, and the late stage is actually stronger. Without swooping, I typically use a 2-stage flare, and was pleasantly surprised that the 189 flew longer, requiring a step or 2 less.

Have been told that manufacture time is fairly short (which it wasn't when I ordered my 209 a couple of years ago), but going to try another Icarus canopy before I buy.

I am very happy with my Demo experience and with the flight and performance of both my 209 and this 189. Great canopies.


> >|

GoWrite your own Review