Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for Electra Average Rating = 4.93/5 Average Rating : 4.93 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

> >|
Show: Sort by: Display:
Bufobufo

PDF Ė Electra 150sqf 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Bufobufo, 2013-09-22


The Electra I base my review on: 700 jumps, 74 on new line-set, flown by me at 1,9 WL.

Easy to fly no matter if it is in deep brakes or, aggressive flying on front risers. It was turning at a decent rate with harness and when I didnít give it any input it wanted to level out quickly. The landing was smooth and the wing produced way more lift then I would expect out of a hybrid canopy with a recommended WL at 1,0.


The dog's kahunas 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: GoneCodFishing, 2013-03-29


Not much more to say that hasn't been said already. Top canopy that deserves to be more popular than it is, and a bit of a cult connoisseur item. Those who join the club are never disappointed.


Electra 150 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: SwissSkydiver, 2012-07-21


The Electra 150 is a great canopy in any ways ! It has unique flairing skills wich allows you to land perfect (fast or slow) in any weather and wind conditions ! It has smooth, on heading openings and reacts great on toggles or front riser inputs ! I really recommend buying this great canopy !


nice canopy 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: dani31, 2012-07-09


Pros: consistently good openings, pretty fast
Cons: heavy front risers


NealFitz

Electra from PdF 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: NealFitz, 2011-08-17


I bought my electra 170 4 years ago soon after I qualified. initially I found it hard to get used to because it is a nippy canopy. however as I continued jumping I grew to love it. it is very responsive in the turn but front riser pressure is a bit hard. a pro is that it has a very good glide ratio similar to the new PD Pulse. I have also jumped the PD Pulse and could see the similarities. I have jumped Sabres, Sabre2s and Safires. I recently purchased an Electra 150 (loaded at 1.3) and another container to hold it and will most likely keep the same planform for the future. I think they are quite a rare breed of canopy I don't know many people who own one and I'm glad I have this one now


Electra 170 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: crashtested, 2011-05-17


I've flown my electra for a couple of years, at a 1.6 wingloading.

The canopy has progressed along with me 180 jumps upwards, and been awsome...

I Demo'd / owned a safire 2 190, Saber 2 210, and a spectre 170, before buying this canopy, and felt that for consistant openings, glide, and flare an electra wins hands down.

It opens without a massive 1000ft snivel unlike the safire.
Has flare power at both the top and bottom end unlike the saber 2
Has Better Glide and swooping responce then the spectre.

I have put around 350 jumps on my Electra, and its been awesome, Its been a great choice, and PDF have made an awesome peice of kit.

Highly recomended!!


Electra 170 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: aaroncosbey, 2010-10-18


Been using this canopy for the last 40 jumps with a 1.25 W/L.
The openings arent as snivelly or as long as a sabre2 or safire 2 and i always get a good jerk just as it finishes opening; I roll the nose each time.
Never get endcell closure like sabre 2's.
Canopy maintains good speed after turns, the front riser pressure is a tad heavy, but nothing a pump of the brakes wont sort. It even responds well to harness input and carves quite well.
Openings are on heading.
I would definately recommend after flying similar safires and sabres.


Electra 170 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: wingdings, 2007-10-26


Since buying my Electra 170 I've fallen in love with it. It's openings are extremely reliable and soft, on heading. The only harder opening I had was when I packed badly and managed to twist my front & rear risers (yikes!) However the canopy still flew incredibly well & landed me softly. The flare characteristics are fantastic and toggle inputs are very responsive. Collapsible slider is a doddle. I receive constant compliments on the canopy as well as the Atom Legend container. Initially getting the canopy into the bag was a real sweat but with time & practice this has become no problem & packing anything else now seems sooo easy. Love it to bits!!


Floflo

You found your first rig 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: Floflo, 2007-10-04


I've been using an Electra 170 for my last 100 jumps (I have 250). I chose it after having tried almost 10 different models.
What I love about it is that it allows you to do pretty much anything (OK, you won't swoop for a hundred yards...)feeling secure. It is very forgiving when you learn to flare: you always have some power left even if your last turn was too low...
For the cons, you need good biceps to use your front risers at every jump... And you really learn to pack! But once you're used to it it's nothing terrible!


The best I've jumped so far 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: farberg, 2007-03-16


After jumping a Sabre1 and quite some F-111 only canopies I did a demo jump with an Electra 150 (wingload 1.1). After the first jump I was convinced and bought it. Very soft and on headings openings (around 300m) which is probably due to the large but easily collapsible slider. The canopy is very responsive even "normal" turns are a charm and only rarely make use of the front risers.

I've only seen them very seldom in Germany yet but I would recommend the canopy for any intermediate pilot.


> >|

GoWrite your own Review