Skip to Content

Skydiving Gear : Reviews

Reviews for Digitude Altimeter - Standard Average Rating = 4.00/5 Average Rating : 4.00 out of 5

Item Details | Reviews

Show: Sort by: Display:

Digitude 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: AdD, 2005-08-19


I like mine, the issues I have are that when I land it likes to read 100ft, even though I zeroed it on the ground, and that it will turn off easily if bumped in the plane.


NoShitThereIWas

Gotta have the Tude. 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: NoShitThereIWas, 2005-02-22


I love my Digitude. I never have to look at my altimeter for more than a split second to know exactly where I am at. I have never had a problem with its accuracy (unless of course you go above 19K or something). I would never have an analog altimeter again. Too bulky, heavy, annoying to wear.

The only problem I have with my Digitude is that the little screws sometimes loosen and come undone. I tried putting some clear nailpolish on the screws when tightened and it seems to help a little. Other than that, an excellent altimeter.


Worth owning, good altimeter 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: 377, 2004-02-19


The Digitude is a very good altimeter. It is accurate, rugged and easy to read. The mfr supports older units and offers very reasonbly priced upgrades, a BIG plus in my book. My only gripe is that you can't rely on its LCD battery indicator. If you do you may end up with a dead altimeter on a jump. No big deal, just put in a new battery when you see even the slightest decrease in indicated battery strength on the LCD. It does not eat bateries fast if you turn it off btwn jumps. The upgrade from the incandescent light to the glow panel is worth doing if you do night jumps and have the old style. The extra digit upgrade for reading out in tens of feet rather than hundreds is probably not worth doing, just not that useful.


SuFantasma

Excellent Functionality ! 4 out of 5 stars

Review by: SuFantasma, 2003-06-23


LOVE IT ! EXCELLENT !

Easy to glance altitude, accurate, lightweight, versatile! Worth its price and then some. I have two units and love them both.

I've been jumping Digitudes for over six months and can't find a reason to go back to analogs. It's just that much easier to read! No double guessing ! Plus the ability to jump at night or on late sunsets without strapping a chem-glow to my wrist....

On Coaching dives, it's an excellent teaching tool along with video. Just put your wrist in front of your camera whenever you want to show the altitude to your student during debriefing! Oh, yeah you can do that with an Analog and spend a couple of minutes figuring out if it was 4000 or 3700 deployment. Specially effective under canopy as the analogs have those itsy bitsy 500ft lines !

The only downside is the reliability of the displays. Unless I am doing something wrong, both units began to lose the display after a couple of hundred dives ( some of the bars go dim or disappear). So a trip to the factory maybe required !

Overall, it's a solid 4 stars.


Excellent altimeter 5 out of 5 stars

Review by: fonz, 2002-06-07


I recently started jumping a Digitude and I absolutely love it!

It's so much easier to read than an analog altimeter; just glance at it and
you know exactly where you are. The display is very legible from a wide
range of angles - and reading deviations caused by parallax are a thing of the past. And no, it's not fragile. I'm still an inexperienced jumper who frequently screws up landings. My Digitude survived all frontloops without even sustaining a single scratch... It's very easy to use - almost foolproof. There's a power switch, a light switch and a zero button. That's all. Once zero has been set (of course it's possible to compensate for elevation differences between take-off and landing sites) you can turn your Digitude on or off whenever you want. Yes, even in the plane or during freefall. Readings will still be correct. Service ceiling is 20,000 feet, which is 2,000 ft. higher than an Altimaster-III. And if you pay attention to the low battery warning, there's no need to fear that it might quit halfway during a skydive. As long as the indicator isn't on, there's still enough power left for an entire jump, including plane and canopy rides. Unless perhaps when you're using the light, but you really don't need that under normal circumstances. Even when wearing tinted goggles on a sunset dive, you don't need the light yet. It's really for night jumps only. The Digitude works on a "normal" AA ("penlite") battery, so no hassles with hard to find flat cells.

I noticed that I react much faster to my Digitude than I do to an analog altimeter. Back when I used to jump an analog, I had to search for the needle, see which numbers are there and then interpret that information in order to make a decision. The Digitude is just so much easier. I glance at it, immediately see exactly how high I am and instantaneously act upon that. And afterwards, there's no "I pulled at about 3,000 or something". You can say "I pulled at 3,100." Period.

The only disadvantage I've been able to find is that you have to remember to shut it off after landing. Otherwise you'll be kicking yourself for having to make a rush trip into town because of course you forgot to bring a spare battery, didn't you... Maybe some sort of auto-shutoff feature would be a nice thing to add.

Other than that, the Digitude is an excellent altimeter. I can definately recommend it. You ought to at least give it a try. And once you've done that, you won't look back and will never want to jump an analog altimeter again. Ever.


4 out of 5 stars

Review by: cloud9, 2002-03-08


I love my digitude. Just clance at it and you can see the numbers. No worry about looking for a dial hand. You see a 5 your at 5000 thousand feet. Its really great under canopy too, because its so easy to read no red line or hand to look for. Try one you'll never want to go back.


1 out of 5 stars

Review by: KMC, 2002-02-20


Having the digitude stop working in the middle of a skydive because the battery went flat isn't the best thing in the world


5 out of 5 stars

Review by: BadDog, 2001-11-25


I bought a bunch of used gear from a guy who was getting out of the sport. I was mainly interested in his rig, but I bought everything he had, including a used Digitude. I decided to jump with the Digitude just to make sure it worked before putting it up for sale. I liked it so much that I statred jumping it all the time, until someone bought it. Then I went out and bought a new one (actually, two new ones). I buy and sell new and used gear on the side, and I loved this altimeter so much that I got set up as a dealer. These are great. They are light weight, have a low profile, and can be used on night jumps with the flick of a switch. They can also be turned on at altitude. Very easy to read the display. You should get one.


GoWrite your own Review